Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > ImgBurn

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20 Aug 2007, 01:51 PM   #1
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Art Vandelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 442
Default Booktype to ROM

I am wondering is there a way with ImgBurn to set it so that ALL DVD+R, DVD+RW, or DVD+R DL will by default bitset to DVD-ROM. I see you can enter media ID's so those disks will bitset to a setting. Is there any way to make all +R variety disks by default burn to ROM without clicking on the bokktype icon everytime. Very nice program, nice work.

Thanks,

AV
Art Vandelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Aug 2007, 02:04 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

most all dvd burners bitsett dvd+r dl by default any more, imgburn autobitsets dvd+r and dvd+rw on compatible drive/firmware combinations after you set it up in imgburn

what burner are you using? hp oem samsung?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Aug 2007, 02:04 PM   #3
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
beachbumm33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 380
Default

under the change booktype icon in the bottom right hand corner, you can specify dvd-rom for dvd+r, dvd+rw and dvd+r dl.......these setting stay that way unless I change them, at least this is true for my 2 liteon burners
beachbumm33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Aug 2007, 02:30 PM   #4
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Art Vandelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 442
Default

thanks beachbumm33

@Chewy, yes it is a HP OEM Samsung TS-H652L ATA firmware is 803. I just don't want a situation where I put a +R DVD of any kind in and forget to go through the bitset steps and end up with a DVD that won't play in my Panasonic set top player since it only likes -R or RAM, it will work fine with +R,+RW,+R DL if I bitset to ROM. Not to mention wasting a DVD
Art Vandelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Aug 2007, 02:34 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

if it is bitsetting now you shouldn't have to change anything with any different brands or mids of dvd+r, now auto burn speed will be dependent upon the mids

the verify part of the log or info last recorded show the booktype as burned
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Aug 2007, 08:43 PM   #6
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

Art Vandelay,

What's the exact identifier string for your drive?

i.e. does it start 'TSSTcorp' like how normal Samsung drives do?

If so, assuming you've not disabled the 'auto change book type' option, it'll be doing it for you automatically anyway (as of v2.3.2.0 or whatever).

If it doesn't use that identifier, look in the 'Advanced' section of the booktype screen and follow the instructions so ImgBurn will know your drive is a variation of the Samsung drives.
__________________
The Official ImgBurn Website
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Aug 2007, 05:31 AM   #7
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Art Vandelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 442
Default

@LIGHTNING UK!

under device manager it says TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H652L firmware is 803 Chewy told me some time ago that it is a rebranded OEM Samsung by HP so I can oly get firmware updates from the HP site when they decide to uptdate it since the drive # doesn't show up on the samsung site. When I use the update firmware feature with ImgBurn it always says Sorry. The specified string could not be found. TS-H652L

I haven't disabled the 'auto change book type' option.

Very nice program, it took me a long time to stop using DVDD for burning ISO's. I never use DVDD for burning anymore since making the change 1 year ago.

Last edited by Art Vandelay; 21 Aug 2007 at 05:33 AM
Art Vandelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Aug 2007, 07:49 AM   #8
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

Ok so that's fine then. If it's 'TSSTcorp', ImgBurn will already be doing all the booktype stuff on DVD+ format media automatically.
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Aug 2007, 08:40 AM   #9
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

TSSTcorp = Toshiba Samsung Storage Technology corporation, just thought I would throw that in.
__________________

soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booktype help. BuNgi3 HuNt3r ImgBurn 61 21 Feb 2007 09:44 AM
DVD rom booktype Topsat DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 4 25 Jan 2004 08:30 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:52 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com