Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > ImgBurn

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16 Feb 2007, 01:14 PM   #1
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Art Vandelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 442
Default Format a DVD+RW

Is there a way to fromat a DVD+RW with ImgBurn when you don't have a ISO to burn at that moment. I have a 5 pack or DVD+RW's and want to have them ready for when I have ISO's to burn to them. (save some time)
Art Vandelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2007, 01:22 PM   #2
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Abuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 347
Default

Art
Imgburn will detect if a RW isn't formated. It will will pop up a window asking if you want to "format now" before it burns an ISO.
__________________
They tried to Assimilate me and failed!
Abuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2007, 01:34 PM   #3
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Art Vandelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 442
Default

Thanks Abuilder, I know that I just want to have them ready so I don't have to wait when I have an ISO to burn.
Art Vandelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2007, 01:58 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

I never use RW's, but I thought all you had to do was go to tools, erase disk then full
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2007, 02:02 PM   #5
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Art Vandelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 442
Default

Thanks Chewy, I only use them when I am comparing output using different filters. I will encode the same movie 2 or 3 times with different filter settings so I see the final output with the compression. Then I burn the one I like to a -R or +R.
Art Vandelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2007, 02:02 PM   #6
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
ratboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 768
Default

I do not think, if you are using a RW to write a movie, that you need to format.
It will write to the disk just like a r disk, but you will need to erase the disk the next time you want to overwrite.
__________________
Important: Remember, if something is worth doing, its worth doing wrong until you learn to do it Right!

IT'S ALL GOOD
ratboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2007, 02:09 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

supposed to do a full format the first time tho, that's where nero drops the ball
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2007, 06:40 PM   #8
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

Yeah as Chewy said, just click

Tools -> Drive -> Erase -> Full.

or right click the drive selection box -> Erase -> Full.
__________________
The Official ImgBurn Website
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to convert .DAT format into DVD format ? alykhalil AVI, DivX/Xvid 18 11 Jan 2006 05:07 PM
Dvd-r Pal Format To Dvd-r Ntsc Format KISSDVD Blank Media and Burning 0 19 Jan 2004 05:38 PM
How to convert DIVX Format into XVID Format? discpoby AVI, DivX/Xvid 11 28 Dec 2002 09:35 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:26 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com