Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > ImgBurn

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 13 Oct 2005, 08:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default I have this warning when I'm burning...

OK, here's the deal. I was using DVDD for burning, but I decided to jump to ImageBurn for the burnings now.
I'm ripping and burning dual layers. I'm not rich, but I like to be a perfectionist, heh.

I get a warning everytime I start burning.
The warning is in the bold. I don't know what it means and I'm scared because it costs about 3 bucks for each Dual Layered DVD.

Also, what is the difference between DAO and SAO? Because would it mess with my Dual Layer DVDs?

I'm just concern because we all know that 3 bucks for a DL is expensive.

Thanks in advance.



Code:
I 03:47:55 ImgBurn Version 1.0.0.0 started!
 I 03:47:55 Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 2)
 I 03:47:55 Initialising SPTI...
 I 03:47:55 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
 I 03:47:56 Found 1 CD-RW and 1 DVD▒RW!
 I 03:48:28 Operation Started!
 I 03:48:28 Source File: D:\S1_SMALLVILLE_DISC_2.ISO
 I 03:48:28 Source File Sectors: 3,735,897 (MODE1/2048)
 I 03:48:28 Source File Size: 7,651,117,056 bytes
 I 03:48:28 Source File Implementation Identifier: DVD Shrink
 I 03:48:28 Destination Device: [1:1:0] PLEXTOR DVDR   PX-740A 1.01 (G:) (ATA)
 I 03:48:28 Destination Media Type: DVD+R DL (Disc ID: RITEK-D01-01) (Speeds: 2.4x)
 I 03:48:28 Destination Media Sectors: 4,173,824
 I 03:48:28 Write Mode: DVD
 I 03:48:28 Write Type: DAO
 I 03:48:28 Write Speed: 2.4x
 I 03:48:28 Link Size: Auto
 I 03:48:28 Test Mode: No
 I 03:48:28 BURN-Proof: Enabled
 W 03:48:28 Optimal L1 Data Zone Start LBA: None Found! (VTS_01)
 I 03:48:29 Optimal L0 Data Zone Capacity: 1,875,296
 I 03:48:29 Optimal L0 Data Zone Method: ECC Block Boundary, VOBU Boundary
gmale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2005, 09:53 PM   #2
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

You have not set the layer break! (See the warning?)

Better set it or only good for coffee.

Plus chuck the Riteks away - get Verbatims instead.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2005, 10:19 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Makes no sense!

In DVDShrink, I made it so that they would not "remove layer break"

Can you explain further?
gmale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2005, 10:25 PM   #4
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

What in god's name are you using DVD Shrink for? It's a DL disk!

Method:

1. Rip in ISO read mode in DVD Decrypter.
2. Pop in DL disk. Double click MDS file and press big green button.

No need to ever leave DVD Decrypter.

Regards
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2005, 12:28 AM   #5
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

see here mill
http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=55859

credit: jmet
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2005, 03:20 AM   #6
Im Off To See The Wizard
 
mill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: cornfields
Posts: 1,105
Default

thanks lt
mill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2005, 03:21 AM   #7
Im Off To See The Wizard
 
mill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: cornfields
Posts: 1,105
Default

thats were i seen it thanks again.
mill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2005, 03:31 AM   #8
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

Your Welcome, But Thank Jmet When You Have It Workin
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2005, 07:58 AM   #9
Im Off To See The Wizard
 
mill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: cornfields
Posts: 1,105
Default

will do, thats if i figure it out.
mill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2005, 09:13 PM   #10
Im Off To See The Wizard
 
mill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: cornfields
Posts: 1,105
Question

Hello all, i was wandering what im doing wrong with imgburn, it seems it only wants to burn mds files, and if there bigger than 4.7 they wont fit on a dvd5 useing dvdd to rip what am i doing wrong ,
mill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2005, 11:48 PM   #11
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

Hi mill. Anything bigger than 4.7GB (actually 4480Mb or so) requires shrinking or a dual layer disk.

The MDS is just a little file with some info in it about the ISO. (edited)

Regards

Last edited by blutach; 10 Nov 2005 at 12:18 AM
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Nov 2005, 09:46 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Blutach, I have the same question as gmale basically. I use shrink to get rid of fbi warnings, etc before ripping as an iso file, otherwise I'd use decrypter to read then write.

So, do you or anyone know if in Shrink if I should leave Remove layer break checked or unchecked. My last coaster had it checked. Then the log from Imgburn was as follows:


I 13:29:35 ImgBurn Version 1.0.0.0 started!
I 13:29:35 Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 2)
I 13:29:35 Initialising SPTI...
I 13:29:35 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 13:29:35 Found 1 DVD+RW and 1 DVD±RW!
I 13:36:34 Operation Started!
I 13:36:34 Source File: I:\EMPIRE_STRIKES_BACK.ISO
I 13:36:34 Source File Sectors: 3,795,968 (MODE1/2048)
I 13:36:34 Source File Size: 7,774,142,464 bytes
I 13:36:34 Source File Implementation Identifier: DVD Shrink
I 13:36:34 Destination Device: [2:0:0] BENQ DVD DD DW1640 BSLB (E (ATA)
I 13:36:34 Destination Media Type: DVD+R DL (Disc ID: RITEK-D01-01) (Speeds: 2.4x)
I 13:36:34 Destination Media Sectors: 4,173,824
I 13:36:34 Write Mode: DVD
I 13:36:34 Write Type: DAO
I 13:36:34 Write Speed: 2.4x
I 13:36:34 Link Size: Auto
I 13:36:34 Test Mode: No
I 13:36:34 BURN-Proof: Enabled
W 13:36:34 Optimal L1 Data Zone Start LBA: None Found! (VTS_04) <<<<< I THINK THIS IS A BAD SIGN <<<<<
I 13:36:34 Optimal L0 Data Zone Capacity: 1,898,128
I 13:36:34 Optimal L0 Data Zone Method: ECC Block Boundary, VOBU Boundary
I 13:36:35 Filling Buffer...
I 13:36:35 Writing LeadIn...
I 13:36:37 Writing Image...
I 14:15:26 Synchronising Cache...
I 14:15:27 Closing Track...
I 14:15:28 Finalising Disc...
I 14:16:53 Operation Successfully Completed! - Duration: 00:40:19
I 14:16:53 Average Write Rate: 3,261 KB/s (2.4x) - Maximum Write Rate: 3,360 KB/s (2.4x)
I 14:16:53 Cycling Tray before Verify...
W 14:17:15 Waiting for device to become ready...
I 14:17:16 Device ready!
I 14:17:16 Operation Started!
I 14:17:16 Source Device: [2:0:0] BENQ DVD DD DW1640 BSLB (E (ATA)
I 14:17:16 Source Media Type: DVD+R DL (Disc ID: RITEK-D01-01) (Speeds: 2.4x)
I 14:17:16 Verifying Sectors...
E 14:19:13 Failed to read Sector 0 - Logical Block Address out of Range <<<<<<<<<<<<<<< WTF????
E 14:19:13 Failed to Verify Sectors!
E 14:19:13 Operation Failed! - Duration: 00:01:57
I 14:19:13 Average Verify Rate: N/A - Maximum Verify Rate: N/A


Everything seemed ok till the verification step, and the discs wouldn't load in any of my DVD players. Please help. (And don't just tell me to buy Verbatim please)

Memorex (Ritek) 2.4x DVD+R DL
BenQ 1640 BSLB fw
Rozy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Nov 2005, 02:23 AM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
ZacOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I come from the Land Down Under...
Posts: 16
Default

My recommendation:

1. Rip with DVD Decrypter (file mode)
2. Process with PgcEdit ("Kill PGC Playback" on warnings etc)
3. Create Image & Burn from within PgcEdit (uses mkisofs & Imgburn)

PgcEdit will set Layer Break properly for you.

You could also blank with VobBlanker between steps 2 & 3, but sort of pointless as you don't need to save the space on DL's.
ZacOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Nov 2005, 11:56 PM   #14
Liverpool 'til I die......
 
lfcrule1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: England
Posts: 365
Default

I wouldn't use Ritek DL's either, I have seen very few good reports on them. The best option is Verbatim DL discs
__________________
"There will come a moment when you have the chance to do the right thing......"

"I Love those moments - I like to wave at them as they pass by...."


ImgBurn Support Forum

Stop !! Before you post read this !

cynthia is Queen of the smilies !
lfcrule1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Nov 2005, 01:39 PM   #15
decrypter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rozy1
Blutach, I have the same question as gmale basically. I use shrink to get rid of fbi warnings,
youa no listena to bluatacha.
whya youa usea shrink for thisa?
no gooda
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:51 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com