Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > ImgBurn

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20 Dec 2006, 11:47 AM   #1
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 314
Default Image Burn Error

When burning a movie with Image Burn to a dual layer DVD, I often get the following error:



It doesn't, however, seem to mess up the resulting DVD. What can/should I do?
loopyloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Dec 2006, 12:21 PM   #2
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

How are you ripping this.
__________________

soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Dec 2006, 12:43 PM   #3
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soup View Post
How are you ripping this.
With Image Tool.

Also, it verifies perfectly - which I assume is a good thing.?

At what point is it ok to bump?

Last edited by loopyloops; 21 Dec 2006 at 09:29 AM
loopyloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jan 2007, 01:30 AM   #4
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loopyloops View Post
With Image Tool.

Also, it verifies perfectly - which I assume is a good thing.?

At what point is it ok to bump?
Just a gentle bump Since posting, I've tried more the same way an same error - but also verifying ok.
loopyloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jan 2007, 01:36 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

post an imgburn log at least showing your burner and the mid code even if
you don't actually burn the disk

for the price of a dual layer disk I would be using standard tools and methods
that preserve the layer break, some players are picky
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jan 2007, 01:45 AM   #6
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy View Post
post an imgburn log at least showing your burner and the mid code even if
you don't actually burn the disk

for the price of a dual layer disk I would be using standard tools and methods
that preserve the layer break, some players are picky
Ok, will do later - thanks! Off to Disneyland for my b day (it's an ugly one) - my kids thought it would be a great idea!

Oh, right, I need to use a dual layer disc - will do tomorrow morn.
loopyloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jan 2007, 10:13 PM   #7
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

It looks to me as if you're just using ImgBurn to burn an existing double layer ISO - yeah?

So it's either failing because the ISO wasn't made properly in the first place, or it's because you're using DVD-R DL rather than DVD+R DL.

DVD-R DL are more of a pain in the arse because you can't move the layerbreak and so the image has to be made to 'fit' the disc EXACTLY.

ImgBurn can do this, you just need to configure 'Build' mode properly so it knows which media type you're using (this is done automatically if you build / burn on the fly).
__________________
The Official ImgBurn Website
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jan 2007, 07:12 AM   #8
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LIGHTNING UK! View Post
It looks to me as if you're just using ImgBurn to burn an existing double layer ISO - yeah?

So it's either failing because the ISO wasn't made properly in the first place, or it's because you're using DVD-R DL rather than DVD+R DL.

DVD-R DL are more of a pain in the arse because you can't move the layerbreak and so the image has to be made to 'fit' the disc EXACTLY.

ImgBurn can do this, you just need to configure 'Build' mode properly so it knows which media type you're using (this is done automatically if you build / burn on the fly).
I'll get the error log, but I'm using + not -. Not sure what you mean by "existing" iso - it exists because I've ripped it from a dual layer DVD.
loopyloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jan 2007, 07:28 AM   #9
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Quote:
because the ISO wasn't made properly in the first place
must be that
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jan 2007, 08:03 AM   #10
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy View Post
must be that
Well, hopefully the log will help - using image tool to rip seems pretty straight forward unless I'm missing something, and it happens like this always.


Thanks!!
loopyloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jan 2007, 09:14 AM   #11
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

I don't even know what 'Image Tool' is! Incase that's not its real name, please make sure you call it the correct one or we're left guessing what you mean.

Either way, there's a good chance the image isn't built properly for DVD+R DL burning. You should recreate it using ImgBurn's 'Build' mode.

By 'existing' I meant it was an ISO made by some other program, not one you'd made in ImgBurn, nor one you were making (buring on the fly) from a bunch of file on your hdd using 'Build' mode.
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jan 2007, 11:47 AM   #12
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LIGHTNING UK! View Post
I don't even know what 'Image Tool' is! Incase that's not its real name, please make sure you call it the correct one or we're left guessing what you mean.

Either way, there's a good chance the image isn't built properly for DVD+R DL burning. You should recreate it using ImgBurn's 'Build' mode.

By 'existing' I meant it was an ISO made by some other program, not one you'd made in ImgBurn, nor one you were making (buring on the fly) from a bunch of file on your hdd using 'Build' mode.
I might be wrong, but I think Image Tool is a sister program to Image Burn - one makes isos, one burns'm.
loopyloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jan 2007, 01:42 PM   #13
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

ImgTool is not a sister prograsm to ImgBurn. Do as LUK suggested and use ImgBurn's build mode and you'll be OK.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Jan 2007, 02:49 AM   #14
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blutach View Post
ImgTool is not a sister prograsm to ImgBurn. Do as LUK suggested and use ImgBurn's build mode and you'll be OK.

Regards
I'll give that a go - this is what I'm talking about (the first one) - http://www.coujo.de/
loopyloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
image burn and shrink raymondtrudeau ImgBurn 1 5 Dec 2006 07:53 PM
Error message for image burn mestokes ImgBurn 3 4 Dec 2006 10:12 AM
Can't burn image file with Nero 7 Ultra,error message Seamey51 DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 7 25 Nov 2006 03:15 AM
Decrypter/Imgburn won't burn ISO image created by Acronis True Image 9.0 ed klein ImgBurn 8 15 Nov 2006 11:19 AM
burn .cdi dvd image trailergod DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 3 10 Dec 2003 05:52 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 05:55 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com