Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > ImgBurn

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28 Jul 2006, 08:48 AM   #1
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Red Bank, NJ
Posts: 205
Default Img Write speed

Can you adjust the write speed on IMGburner, if so how,
TIA
durkinjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 09:09 AM   #2
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

See the settings box on the main screen?



Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 09:11 AM   #3
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

I always thought you put a blank dvd in?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 09:11 AM   #4
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

If you are talking about ImgBurn. Start ImgBurn & look at the bottom right hand side of the program where it says write speed.

Edit: I am just going to accept the fact that I am slow.
__________________

soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 09:13 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Well I know it remembers my last setting, kind of neat, surely Blutach has not been burning at 8x?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 09:16 AM   #6
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

Couldn't be, must be just an example.
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 09:19 AM   #7
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

Blutach accepts his responsibilities to push to the limit to test ImgBurn on his system. He burns at 8x for beta testing purposes (but will happily return to 4x later).

Regards
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 09:51 AM   #8
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 713
Default

Well then, I hope it is sooner than later that you return to 4x, if you get my drift. Because that will only mean good things are ready to appear.
copyless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 10:25 AM   #9
Super Moderatress
 
cynthia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14,278
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy
Well I know it remembers my last setting, kind of neat, surely Blutach has not been burning at 8x?
First the usage of Nero Showtime and now 8x burning...

Wonder what will be next secret to be revealed...
__________________
cynthia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 11:34 AM   #10
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

Maybe that I really use AnyDVD instead of RipIt4Me?

Regards
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 11:39 AM   #11
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

Somehow I don't think that is going to happen.
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 11:55 AM   #12
Who Farted?
 
locoeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: behind you
Posts: 2,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blutach
Maybe that I really use AnyDVD instead of RipIt4Me?

Regards
A pirated version at that.....
__________________


"I refuse to have a battle of wits with an unarmed person. It's not fair to you and no challenge for us."
Walt Kelly
locoeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 12:19 PM   #13
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

I dont use imgburn often, all I know is Nero can burn very good with bad media
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Aug 2006, 02:43 PM   #14
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 348
Default

I use 16x disks and have been burning at the max setting which during the burn ranges from about 4x to around 13x (never seen it go all the way to 16x). Haven't had one problem with those speeds yet. I don't think that old "burn at 4x only" rule of thumb is really valid much anymore (it's more of a fail safe if your equipment has problems with faster speeds, rather than the norm). At least with my experiences it hasn't been. I think now 8x is just as safe a zone as 4x used to be.
__________________
I7 920 @ 3.5 gig (ThermalRight U120E 1366 RT Heatsink), Asus P6T, 3x1024 Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 280, NEC 90GX2, X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, Lite-on IHAS4228 SATA DVD R/W, Pioneer DVR-216D SATA DVD R/W, LG GH22NS30 SATA DVD R/W, 2 WD 640 gig (32 meg cache) SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig SATA External HDD (eSata), Winfast USB2 TV Tuner, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows XP Pro

Last edited by Mike89; 7 Aug 2006 at 02:53 PM
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Aug 2006, 03:01 PM   #15
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 713
Default

@ Mike89, Have you actually ran tests on the disc, like Nero CDSpeed, or are you going on the basis that they play? Although I am not a believer in the burn at 4x rule, I am also not a believer in the burn at max speed either. I have ran several test on several different brands of media, in both + and -R formats. My worst results came at 4x, and 16x. My best and most consistent results came at 8x, and on a select few MID's 12x. These being tested with Nero CD/DVD Speed. Now this is with my setup, and my burner, others may vary. But I am curious to see some of your test results at the max burn speed.
copyless is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dvd drive wont read or burn mountainbear ImgBurn 10 1 Jun 2006 06:27 AM
I/O error burning with decryper 3.5.1.0 Janet Mac DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 8 12 Jan 2005 09:22 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:58 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com