Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > ImgBurn

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16 Aug 2006, 12:43 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3
Default ISO vs VIDEO_TS & 32K Padding

I was wondering if there is a preference on which way to burn a DVD.

Another way to put it - is it better to build an ISO file and then burn it to DVD or is there no difference in just letting IMGBurn take the VIDEO_TS files and burn them to the DVD?

I'm asking this question because I've heard it is better to have the 32K padding in your files to ensure more compatible playback. However, if you rip an original DVD in ISO mode to burn back to a DVD - can IMGBurn still place the 32K padding in the ISO prior to burning? I would imagine the 32K padding could only be used if the files were separated, such as in a VIDEO_TS folder.

Can someone clarify for me?

Thanks, Ty
fairhope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Aug 2006, 07:02 AM   #2
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default



Both methods work. The first (ISO to HD, then burn) is a bit safer, but since the ISO making is so much faster than the burning, a direct burning to the device is safe. It has been tested many times during beta testing.

It is better to have 32k gaps on. It is meaningless if you are doing a regular full disk shrink without editing, but quite important if you do a re-author. Also, all DVDs have at least 32k gaps anyway. If you rip an ISO and burn, you'll have nothing to worry about. Best to keep this on, IMHO.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Aug 2006, 11:26 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, Blutach.

I almost always do editing after ripping. I try to avoid using compression as much as possible.

I also leave the 32K padding option on always. I was just curious if ImgBurn implements the 32K padding when burning directly from a VIDEO_TS folder or if it is only implemented when building an ISO prior to burning.

Thanks, Ty
fairhope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Aug 2006, 11:56 PM   #4
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

32k padding applies to the whole of 'Build' mode.

So that goes for burning direct to disc AND building an ISO.
__________________
The Official ImgBurn Website
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Aug 2006, 12:17 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LIGHTNING UK! View Post
32k padding applies to the whole of 'Build' mode.

So that goes for burning direct to disc AND building an ISO.
Probably a dumb question but what happens to the 32K padding in IMGburn when the ISO has already been padded using DVD Rebuilder output to ISO?
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Aug 2006, 12:35 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3
Default

Lightning UK:

That is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you for clarifying.

Ty
fairhope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Aug 2006, 07:35 AM   #7
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

rack04, if it's already an ISO, nothing gets changed. The ISO is burnt 'as-is'.

ImgBurn's 32k gaps stuff only applies to 'Build' mode and it's internal code for that is always run. Either it removes them if not enabled or it puts them in if it is.
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Aug 2006, 08:52 AM   #8
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

@rack04

Are you aware that jdobbs does not recommend this setting with his software as some people had some problems?

I am not sure whether that function is completely bug free in DVD Rebuilder, that's all.

Regards
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Aug 2006, 09:19 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blutach View Post
@rack04

Are you aware that jdobbs does not recommend this setting with his software as some people had some problems?

I am not sure whether that function is completely bug free in DVD Rebuilder, that's all.

Regards
Thanks for the tip. I thought that he didn't recommend it because some authoring programs, i.e. AnyDVD, would advice that the DVD is not mastered correctly, similar to the error IMGburn exhibits.
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Aug 2006, 09:32 AM   #10
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

The ImgBurn error is a little bug, that is being corrected in the next released (it had to do with an incorrect size computation in the IFOs).

As for Anydvd, I don't know. All I remember is that jdobbs took this off his defaults for some reason. A search over at doom9 would locater a thread or 2 on it.

Regards
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IFO/BUP 32K Padding notec ImgBurn 2 8 Aug 2006 02:40 PM
Enable 32K Padding rack04 DVD Rebuilder 9 3 Jul 2006 02:43 AM
Sync problems, padding streams, etc. trippynet Authoring and Editing 1 18 Apr 2005 02:28 AM
Missing VIDEO_TS.INFO and VIDEO_TS.BUP ewca AVI, DivX/Xvid 1 1 Dec 2003 03:55 PM
Video_TS econ Auf Deutsch 0 22 Nov 2002 08:36 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com