Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > ImgBurn

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26 Apr 2007, 09:55 AM   #1
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 51
Default +RW Formatting problem.

Tried to use an empty Sony+RW disk. ImgBurn said it needed to be formatted, did I want ImgBurn to do it.
On 'Yes' I got the loud 'Oh No!' and log file says:-
'Failed to erase disk. - Invalid Command Operation Code.'
Operation failed - Duration 00:00:00.
Does anyone have any suggestions. The failure occured before AND after I updated my burner firmware so I don't think its that -- but I have, occasionally, been known to be extremely wrong!
bill.mccreadie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Apr 2007, 07:21 PM   #3
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

You've probably got the drive on a raid controller and it's drivers won't accept the command used to format / erase a disc.

You'll have to make the controller look like a normal ATA one before you can use your opticaly drive on it fully.
__________________
The Official ImgBurn Website
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Apr 2007, 08:04 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LIGHTNING UK! View Post
You've probably got the drive on a raid controller and it's drivers won't accept the command used to format / erase a disc.

You'll have to make the controller look like a normal ATA one before you can use your opticaly drive on it fully.
I was afraid you'd come along and say that

http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...t=45365&page=5

JMicron JMB36x scuzzi crap all over again
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Apr 2007, 10:15 PM   #5
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy View Post
I was afraid you'd come along and say that

http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...t=45365&page=5

JMicron JMB36x scuzzi crap all over again
I refuse point blank to go through all that again!
Can I format RW disks elswhere and then use them in my burner??
bill.mccreadie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Apr 2007, 10:21 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

the problem is entirely your controller being non-standard or not ide compliant

first a bios may or may not set the chipset to ide mode

then windows has to load a driver

somewhere in all this yours is screwing up

assuming your computer is still under warranty I would have it fixed,
http://zoostorm.com/
they screwed it up

Last edited by Chewy; 26 Apr 2007 at 10:26 PM
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 05:32 AM   #7
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 51
Default

Would using an external usb burner bypass the problem and allow the use of RW disks?
bill.mccreadie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 06:02 AM   #8
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LIGHTNING UK! View Post
You've probably got the drive on a raid controller and it's drivers won't accept the command used to format / erase a disc.

You'll have to make the controller look like a normal ATA one before you can use your opticaly drive on it fully.
I have no idea how that can be done. HELP.
bill.mccreadie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 07:06 AM   #9
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?s...537&hl=JMicron

http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?s...736&hl=JMicron

or just search for jmicron
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD-RW formatting time techreactor DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 1 19 Jul 2005 07:17 PM
? re formatting dvd pushbiker General Discussions 6 15 Mar 2005 10:37 PM
i am new to this formatting -- help johnyyz DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding 2 2 Oct 2002 08:52 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:39 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com