Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > MP4, MKV, MPEG-4 AVC (H.264)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2 Nov 2009, 07:54 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default Optimum Hardware to encode video with H.264 codec

Any suggestions what is the best processor to use to encode videos with H.264 codec? What is optimum configuration for the computer?
wirelesspedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Nov 2009, 09:24 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

a quadcore is definitely way better than dual or single but which x4 is a matter of what you are willing to spend or which hardware will have to be replaced/upgraded

you can get a good impression with X264 HD Benchmark since many users have posted their results in this forum thread where you can compare different machines and their throughput

be careful to take a close look at the CORE speed not the stock when you compare results

here are mine btw:

Code:
x264 HD BENCHMARK RESULTS 
Please copy/paste everything below the line into the forum post to report your data 
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 
 
Results for x264.exe v0.58.747 
encoded 1442 frames, 75.65 fps, 3905.42 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 77.62 fps, 3905.42 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 78.08 fps, 3905.42 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 77.49 fps, 3905.42 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 19.36 fps, 3952.85 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 19.32 fps, 3952.85 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 19.33 fps, 3952.85 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 19.27 fps, 3952.85 kb/s
 
Results for x264.exe v0.59.819M 
encoded 1442 frames, 79.01 fps, 3891.55 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 79.29 fps, 3889.35 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 79.49 fps, 3886.53 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 79.28 fps, 3887.33 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.73 fps, 3963.43 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.74 fps, 3962.79 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.74 fps, 3963.17 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.71 fps, 3963.58 kb/s
 
 
System Details 
-------------- 
Name			AMD Phenom
Codename		Deneb
Specification		AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor
Core Stepping		
Technology		45 nm
Stock frequency		3000 MHz
Core Speed		3525.2 MHz (15.0 x 235.0 MHz)
FID range		5.0x - 15.0x
 
Northbridge		AMD 780G rev. 00
Southbridge		ATI SB700 rev. 00
 
CAS#			5.0
RAS# to CAS#		5
RAS# Precharge		5
Cycle Time (tRAS)	15
Command Rate		2T
Memory Frequency	470.0 MHz (1:2)
Memory Type		DDR2
Memory Size		3328 MBytes
Channels		Dual (Unganged)
 
Windows Version		Microsoft Windows XP Professional  Service Pack 2 (Build 2600) 
 
max VID			1.300 V
Voltage sensor 0	1.38 Volts [0x56] (CPU VCORE)
Number of processors	1
Number of threads	4
Number of threads	4 (max 4)
L2 cache		4 x 512 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Instructions sets	MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSE4A, x86-64
Package			Socket AM2+ (940)
Package Type		0x1
 
Temperature sensor 0	31C (87F) [0x1F] (TMPIN0)
Temperature sensor 1	55C (130F) [0x37] (TMPIN1)
Temperature sensor 2	55C (130F) [0x37] (TMPIN2)
Temperature sensor 0	54C (129F) [0x1B0] (core #0)
Temperature sensor 1	54C (129F) [0x1B0] (core #1)
Temperature sensor 2	55C (130F) [0x1B4] (core #2)
Temperature sensor 3	55C (130F) [0x1B4] (core #3)
__________________

Last edited by UncasMS; 2 Nov 2009 at 11:48 AM
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Nov 2009, 10:51 AM   #3
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

I just glanced through about 1/2 dozen of those benchmark reports but the short answer seems to be Intel i7. Looks like it kicks some serious ass.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Nov 2009, 10:56 AM   #4
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

only if you are willing to spend the amount of money such cpus, mb and ram will cost you

that's why i asked for a price range
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Nov 2009, 11:13 AM   #5
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

My machine only got about 2/3 your throughput. 54s and 14s roughly. Still, it's just an HP off the shelf system.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Nov 2009, 11:21 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

you did notice that my results posted above are not stock speed?
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Nov 2009, 11:24 AM   #7
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

Nope. The thing I noticed was you have Phenom II whereas I only have Phenom. That's what struck me anyway.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Nov 2009, 11:48 AM   #8
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

well, comparing only phenom I & II would be unfair given that i have oc'ed mine with 500mhz per core - so treat yours nicely
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Nov 2009, 12:25 PM   #9
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

Yeah, I meant my system was off the shelf, not yours. I didn't expect it to be a super performer but pretty good performance with little or no hassle for moderate bucks. I just wish I went quad core much earlier. I kept wasting time with these Pentium 4 systems when I could have AMDd on down much sooner.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimum Pwr Calib failed - v. 2.4.1.0 mcc99 ImgBurn 1 8 Apr 2008 02:37 PM
Encode With WM11 codec/encoder? I-Land Other File Formats 6 14 Feb 2007 12:00 AM
How can i encode dvds using nvidia6800 hardware? leftiszi General Discussions 5 27 Aug 2004 05:28 PM
Optimum Resolution Jeff Mott General Discussions 0 20 Apr 2004 06:22 AM
How can I encode a SVCD for DivX codec ?? Rhino General Discussions 6 11 Dec 2001 02:24 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:44 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com