Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Archived Posts > DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2 Nov 2002, 10:06 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 38
Default Frozen Frames when splitting ?

Hi there.

I have followed UncasMS guide for GKnot and everything is running smoothly plus the quality is excellent (thanks Uncas). However, I read on UncasMS's site that after splitting a DivX file in order to fit it on two CDs, I should check the splitted file for frozen frames using VDub 1.4.10 by using Video --> Check Video for Freezes. However there is no such option in VDub. The only similar thing I can find is Video --> Scan Video Stream for errors however when using it, I don't get any message at the end, informing me whether there are any bad frames or not.

Any help ?

Thanks in advance.
iparout is offline  
Old 2 Nov 2002, 08:30 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

hi iparout,

first of all, you're right: the function has TWO different names in those two different vd-versions!

the option i was referring to is the one from the older vd_mp3_vbr version.

still you picked the right function and it is true, that there MIGHT be no message at all in the end.

divx5 as opposed to the former divx3/ms-v2 codec DOES not suffer from FROZEN FRAMES

thus, my advice of scanning every file is not valid ANY LONGER (it is though when NOT using divx5!!!).

i have just changed my guide a little and added a note that divx5 files will not have to be scanned!

there is, however, one important option one should be familiar with in divx5 PLAYBACK!

there are no frozen frames any more - so far so good BUT even a divx5 may sort of freeze!!!!

this is not, however, due to frozen frames - this can be traced back to the playback option SMOOTH PLAYBACK!!!

my firm advice is to DISABLE this option in the divx5 playback settings!!!
__________________
UncasMS is offline  
Old 2 Nov 2002, 09:44 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 38
Default

Yes, I was already aware of the problem caused by the Smooth Playback option.

Thanks for clearing things out.
iparout is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:44 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com