Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Archived Posts > DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 3 Dec 2002, 09:37 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default Gordian Knot not encoding credits & muxing audio

Hi,

I setup GKNOT using the guide at doom9 to encode Dead Poets Society using divx 5.02 - 2 pass (2cd).

I used besweet to generate my desired ac3 file and selected that in GKNOT.

I ran the first pass sucessfully (choosing to encode credits seperately as suggested - yes, i set the start of the end credits!).

I then set it to run the second pass and 'just mux' the audio file. It informed me that the number of frames was different to the number originally counted (by some 4800 .... possibly the credits?). It corrected the bitrate and produced an output avi equal to 1GB, without credits, and without muxing with my ac3 file (197mb).

What?!!!

Any ideas?

Thanx
theboywonderuk is offline  
Old 3 Dec 2002, 10:33 AM   #2
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

You have to select 'Both passes', Instead of only doing the second pass.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline  
Old 3 Dec 2002, 11:07 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default

it doesnt work. runs straight through in a matter of a second saying something about not being able to open a log file etc etc.....

you should theoretically be able to do each pass individually anyway (otherwise why is there that option?). i believe doom9's guide mentions that you can do the 1st pass and come back to it.......... and if it wasnt his guide it was another well written popular one!
theboywonderuk is offline  
Old 3 Dec 2002, 11:23 AM   #4
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by theboywonderuk
it doesnt work. runs straight through in a matter of a second saying something about not being able to open a log file etc etc.....
This probably happens because you don't have divx5 properly installed. Reinstall Divx5.02.

Quote:
Originally posted by theboywonderuk

you should theoretically be able to do each pass individually anyway (otherwise why is there that option?).
Yes, but I seriously doubt this will be of any use to you if you can't do the two passes automatically.

Anyway, to get around your problem you can load the avs file created by GKnot into virtualdub and configure the 2 passes in virtualdub. As per this guide.

http://www.doom9.org/divx5.htm

Last edited by khp; 3 Dec 2002 at 11:27 AM
khp is offline  
Old 3 Dec 2002, 11:26 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default

ok thanx : )

i'll give it a shot.
theboywonderuk is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:36 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com