Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Archived Posts > DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29 May 2002, 12:59 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3
Default i lost my sound in DIVX movies

I had several movies in divx format that i was converting into a VCD. something failed while converting one from a AVI to MPEG-1. Next thing i know i cant even play the movies on my comp with sound, picture is fine but no sound. This is also the same when burned on a vcd. The dvd player plays the picture but no sound. Whats wrong?

I had sound at one point, what happen to it?
Stogie is offline  
Old 29 May 2002, 08:04 AM   #2
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

try installing the MP3 codecs like lame and radium for ur avi's then it should play sound.



Techno
techno is offline  
Old 29 May 2002, 08:11 AM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

A general note, TMPGEnc is incompatible with the divx 5.xx codecs.
Batman is offline  
Old 29 May 2002, 11:03 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Are you saying that even your original DivX-compressed .AVI files now play without sound, or only the MPEG1-VideoCD files?

If it's only the MPEG1-VideoCDs, chances are that the original .AVI file contains either an AC3 or VBR(Variable Bit Rate)-MPEG3 audiostream - neither of which can be processed by TMPGEnc.

To help you overcome this, first do the following:

1) Load the file into VirtualDub

2) From the "File" dropdown menu, select "File Information"

3) Post (here) EVERYTHING you see (both video and audio information), or post a screen capture .jpg of the information box
setarip is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 06:37 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3
Default

thanks anyways guys but i figured it out, watching the movies now lol
Stogie is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 07:27 AM   #6
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Did you just push the "Power On" button on your speakers?
setarip is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:00 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com