Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Archived Posts > DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 8 Feb 2004, 01:24 AM   #1
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Default missing codec

i use virtualdub for capturing video, but since my last fresh windows install i haven't been able to choose divx 5.x as capturing codec. divx 3 is available. i've tried reinstalling codecs, removing divx 3 (including registry keys), but nothing helped. i also deleted everything that refeers to virtualdub and tried using a new one, but it didn't work
please help, i'm in no mood to reinstall my windows
mescalino is offline  
Old 8 Feb 2004, 01:35 AM   #2
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default

" use virtualdub for capturing video, but since my last fresh windows install i haven't been able to choose divx 5.x as capturing codec. divx 3 is available."

Which version of Windows are you using? (2000, XP)
ormonde is offline  
Old 8 Feb 2004, 04:10 AM   #3
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Default

i have windows xp
mescalino is offline  
Old 8 Feb 2004, 04:25 AM   #4
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default

I would download the newest Divx 5.1.1 codec to see if that resolves your problem.
ormonde is offline  
Old 8 Feb 2004, 08:03 AM   #5
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Default

i already have divx 5.1.1 and have also tried to install other versions but it didn't help. i also forgot to mention that i can choose divx 5.1.1 when virtualdub is in editing mode. only when i enter capture mode it is missing. kind of weird, isn't it
mescalino is offline  
Old 8 Feb 2004, 11:45 AM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
tigerman8u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,124
Default

I checked and divx 5.1.1 comes up for me. Are you clicking on video and compression?
tigerman8u is offline  
Old 9 Feb 2004, 03:06 AM   #7
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Default

yep, video - compression. i've been capturing video for a couple of months and before i could choose 5.x including 5.1.1, but only since last fresh install of windows i had this problem. i don't remeber in which order i installed codecs i have, maybe this has something to do with it. last night i also installed some lossless video codecs and some of them also don't show up. maybe i can edit registry somehow so they would show up?
mescalino is offline  
Old 9 Feb 2004, 03:23 AM   #8
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: U.K/England
Posts: 335
Default

I would'nt go messing around with the regisrty if you are'nt sure, (which is what it sounds like).
__________________
Computer Fanatic
zx50 is offline  
Old 9 Feb 2004, 03:37 AM   #9
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Default

yes, i'm no expert, but if it's just adding key or value or editing it, i can do it (i'm not saying that i would know exactly what i'm doing, but i'm able to follow instructions)
mescalino is offline  
Old 9 Feb 2004, 05:59 AM   #10
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: U.K/England
Posts: 335
Default

Right okay then, just advising that's all.
zx50 is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:12 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com