Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Archived Posts > DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18 Mar 2003, 03:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Angry Problem with LanczosResize

I recently encoded a movie using the LanczosResize plugin in my Avisynth script (for shrinking to 608 x 336). The problem is that it made all the letters in the credits look funny (lots of white dots around the letters). Is there anything I can do to avoid this?(besides using a different resizer). Thank you for your replies.
Max_Schreck is offline  
Old 18 Mar 2003, 10:57 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

i'm using lanczos for quite some time now and that effect rather sounds like using different parameters in your codec.

did you by chance change the codec/its settings?
__________________
UncasMS is offline  
Old 19 Mar 2003, 12:56 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

No, I'm using the same parameters for both passes and I haven't changed any of the advanced parameters default values. With BicubicResize the problem is much less noticeable.
Max_Schreck is offline  
Old 19 Mar 2003, 09:29 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

your answer indicates, however, that the litle artefacts are present - only less visible because of slightly different sharpness.

are you using xvid by chance?
pretty much sounds like it.

if so which release and most important which settings?
UncasMS is offline  
Old 19 Mar 2003, 10:20 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Actually I'm using DivX 5.02 pro at 1200 Kbps with GMC and bidirectional encoding, no psychovisual enhancing, keyframe every 250 frames, al other settings at codec default value. Could it be Avisynth the cause of the problem? I'm using version 2.50 and the Mpeg2dec3.dll plugin, I did another test yesterday using BilinearResize and it solved the problem completely. Thank you for taking the time to look into this.
Max_Schreck is offline  
Old 19 Mar 2003, 10:38 PM   #6
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
The Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 610
Default

You would get slightley better compression using BilinearResize. Even more so for credits. Is it possible to post your AVISynth script here?

Edge
__________________
"ůI know the industry is formally opposed to that kind of thing [bootlegging] but I'm not. I don't have a problem with it at all." -- Paul McGuiness"
The Edge is offline  
Old 19 Mar 2003, 11:09 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

i'm using avisynth 2.50 and 2.51 as well with divx 5.02

what i DONT use, however, is GMC because with gmc on i experienced ringing

make a small testrun WITHOUT gmc

bilinear is way to blurry for me.

i'd rather opt for lanczos + convolution3d
UncasMS is offline  
Old 19 Mar 2003, 11:19 PM   #8
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
The Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 610
Default

Yes, convolution3d is a must have on most films.
Makes such a big difference when used correctlly.
I usually have it before resize filter. Where would one be without AVISynth!

Edge
The Edge is offline  
Old 20 Mar 2003, 06:16 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

I have found that already when I open my script in VirtualDub (before encoding!) the artifacts are there if use Lanczos or Bicubic, so I think it has everything to do with the resizing filter and not so much with gmc. I'm using VDMod 1.4.13. Here is my script if it is of any help

LoadPlugin("D:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\Plugins\Mpeg2Dec3.DLL")
LoadPlugin("D:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\Plugins\AutoCrop.DLL")
Mpeg2Source("D:\Road to Perdition\RoadTP.d2v")
#
#CROPPING:
#
AutoCrop(0,4,2,2,2,2,2,40,10,0)
#
#RESIZING:
#
LanczosResize(640,304)
#BilinearResize(640,304)
#BicubicResize(640,304)
#
Max_Schreck is offline  
Old 20 Mar 2003, 08:38 AM   #10
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

your avs doesnt look much different to mine

maybe reinstalling avisynth 2.5 + the apropriate filters will help.

i am most satisfied with lanczos and so is almost any other user of this resizer.
UncasMS is offline  
Old 21 Mar 2003, 09:40 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

I've found what the problem was. It seems my computer doesn't like the Lanczos - Mpeg2Dec3.dll combination. I switched back to the Mpeg2Dec.dll and problem solved, I can use Lanczos and Bicubic and there are no artifacts in the image, which is nice and sharp as it's to be expected with LanczosResize. It's too bad because my computer is old and slow (AMD K6 II) so I can use all the speed I can get and the Mpeg2Dec3 plugin did make a difference. I wonder if other people have experienced this same problem. Anyway, c'est la vie. Thank you Uncas and Edge for your help and suggestions, we'll see what new weird problem I can come up with the next time.
Max_Schreck is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com