Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Archived Posts > DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22 Jan 2002, 05:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 44
Default Question re encoding with diff systems

This is a curiosity thing that i hope someone can help me with.

My brother and i both make divx using the same methods, on differnt pc's. The end results play beautiful on the machine that made them. As an experiment we thought we would swap copies and watch them on the other respective pc. well the playback quality is considerably worse. pixellation takes effect and the movie becomes blocky. it goes both ways. ie my copies are crap on his and his copies are crap on mine.

we have both played downloaded divx with no problems.

our systems are similar apart from the motherboards and video cards.

we have tried this using identical settings, with flask, nandub , Fair Use as well as other methods but the same thing happens.

my question is does anyone have any idea why is this happening? would it have anything to do with different pcs?


thanx
DivZ is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2002, 06:21 AM   #2
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

Cool, brothers that do DIVX!!!!

Right, well, what graphics card do you brothers have? what is the size (32MB)?

What is the CPU?

What codec do u use to convert to DIVX when DVD-Ripping?

If u use DIVX 3.11alpha, right click on the video (in WMP) and elect properties, in the last tab (advanced?) click on DIVX DVD video compressor and choose properties, make sure the slider is set to 4 (more DIVX quality)

That is all I can think of at the moment!

Good luck and let us know of anything else!

Techno
techno is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2002, 06:52 AM   #3
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 770
Default

Are you sure you both use the same codec? Maybe you installed differnet versions of DivX with different settings or installed filters on the one pc and not on the other.
benderman is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2002, 12:27 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 44
Default

i have a P3 600EB with geforce 256 ddr 32Mb

he has a P3 600 with an 8MB Riva TNT

we have the same codecs and filters, he uses my copies.
currently we are both using 2 pass nandub with 3.11 for encoding.

thanks
DivZ is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2002, 07:35 PM   #5
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

I think the system with the 8MB card is causing the trouble because DIVX configures ur card and tries to give u the best display only for the card it detects, that's the way I see it.

But I maybe wrong

Techno
techno is offline  
Old 24 Jan 2002, 05:55 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 44
Default

cool thanks for the feedback dudes.

im getting another new system soon too so might play around with this some more when i have 2 pc's
will be interesting to compare quality between the 2.

this could be another thread altogether but anyway

is there an ideal video card for divx?
i was thinking along the lines of an Abit Geforce 3 64Mb DDR
matched up with an Athlon XP2000 and a K7 266 Pro 2 mainboard. (jus for starters)

any suggestions
DivZ is offline  
Old 24 Jan 2002, 06:09 AM   #7
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

ahhhhhhh, AMD, sorry I don't like that!
i have a Gforce 2Mx 32MB AGP, that should be fine, your gforce 3 that u r getting.

Make sure u get a DECENT motherboard!

Do u live in the UK? If so I could give u an estimate for a new system with ur specifications.

Make sure that ur graphics card memory is >8MB! 32MB should be decent!

Techno
techno is offline  
Old 24 Jan 2002, 01:23 PM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 44
Default

live in australia dude.

you hear so many things about AMD vs Intel i dont know what to believe these days.
although ive had 2 intels maybe its time to try AMD.

thanks
DivZ is offline  
Old 24 Jan 2002, 09:02 PM   #9
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

AHHHHHH, such a shame u live in Australia, If u lived here I could have given u a system! oh well


Na, I haven't heard and don't believe the AMD vs Intel.

Personal experience with customers, AMD are overclockers thereforesay that they are better than Intel. Anyway, this is a DIVX forum, not a CPU forum!

Really, u need a graphics card which is good for watching videos:

Like I said before:

Gforce 2mx 32MB AGP or the graphics cards nowadays will be good enough!

Techno
techno is offline  
Old 25 Jan 2002, 08:03 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 44
Default

point taken

appreciate your help

thank you
DivZ is offline  
Old 26 Jan 2002, 12:14 AM   #11
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

no problem, I hope I didn't put u off or anything like that!

Techno
techno is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:59 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com