Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Archived Posts > Authoring and Editing

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 8 Dec 2003, 09:03 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: London
Posts: 2
Default Animated Menus On VCD

Hi,
Greetings to all. My question is - is it possible to put animated menus on a VCD - I'm after a small video image that loops...possible?
Regards,
DVD Baron
DVD Baron is offline  
Old 9 Dec 2003, 04:28 AM   #2
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Default I don't think it's possible but...

I shouldn't think that this is possible owing to the fact that only still images are supported in the VCD specification.

What you could do though is store the MPEG1 file in DVD format and create a DVD fileset which will fit onto a CD. (MPPEG-1 files are supported in the DVD specification). Some DVD drives will support this but others won't because if they are using the CD laser to read the discs they wont be expecting to find DVD format files.

This means then that you can create an animated background using your favourite DVD authoring package!
bobbagoose is offline  
Old 9 Dec 2003, 05:23 AM   #3
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,329
Default

I don't know if you can use it in a menu...but if you want to get a small looping video you can make an animated GIF. Import a short vid into ULead GIF Animator and it'll fix you up. You'll be able to put it on a CD....but I have no idea if it will work for what you want.
rsquirell is offline  
Old 10 Dec 2003, 12:47 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rsquirell
I don't know if you can use it in a menu...but if you want to get a small looping video you can make an animated GIF. Import a short vid into ULead GIF Animator and it'll fix you up. You'll be able to put it on a CD....but I have no idea if it will work for what you want.
It won't work for a vcd menu because the image used needs to be encoded into the format used by the VCD standard. It's basically a JPEG image in the VCD resolution. This JPEG format does not support moving images.

If you did use an animated GIF then you would probably just get the 1st frame encoded.
bobbagoose is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:01 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com