Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Archived Posts > Authoring and Editing

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27 Feb 2005, 12:27 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Warrington
Posts: 25
Question track problems & converting...

Hey everyone,

Just when i thought i have finally figured converting files and menus, i get blown out!!!

What i wanted to do was, put 7 files all of 170MB each onto a dvd with menus.

So i converted the avi files using "dvd santa" this converted fine, so now i had the 7 files in video_ts dvd format.

Now i wanted to create dvd menus so i could select each episode 1-7. Now i opened "TMPGEnc DVD Author 1.6" i created a new project and added the 1-7 dvd files into the tracks. Then created the menus and scene selection. The total size was bigger than a dvd disk, it was 5.4GB. I saved the files onto hard drive.

Now to get the files on a dvd, i oped dvd Shrink, opened the dvd files and compressed them so they could fit on a disk.

Then i opened Nero SmartStart and burned them to dvd. At this point i was chuffed, i thought i had finally done it. Then when i played them on my dvd player, the last 2 tracks or (episodes) do not work, they come up red, then the dvd player doesnt recognise it, then it does not read the dvd.

All the other tracks work, on some of them as well the screen freezes and skips?Why does it do this?

I tired other tracks from different files and the same thing happens its always the last 2 tracks!

Any help on why it does this, or where i am going wrong and how i can solve this would be much appreciated!!

Cheers
__________________
Glory Glory Man United!!!
bulc9 is offline  
Old 27 Feb 2005, 01:34 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"I tired other tracks from different files and the same thing happens its always the last 2 tracks!"

Sounds like the typical consequence of using poor quality media - the closer to the outer edge, the poorer the recording quality...
setarip is offline  
Old 27 Feb 2005, 01:46 AM   #3
Retired
 
Mig$y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,966
Default

>bulc9

With setarips post in mind, try playing back your Shrunk files with your s/w DVD player (PowerDVD, WinDVD). Do the last two episodes play?

__________________


Mig$y is offline  
Old 27 Feb 2005, 02:32 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Warrington
Posts: 25
Default

Yes i tired the files on my computer with power dvd and they work! Well last time i looked they did.

I have been using the cheap dvds (bulk pak) lol. this is probally why then! I have got some good ones today, i will see how they go and if it does the same with these.

If it still does the same thing, what could be the problem?

Cheers for you responses!!!
bulc9 is offline  
Old 27 Feb 2005, 03:06 AM   #5
Retired
 
Mig$y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,966
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bulc9
I have been using the cheap dvds (bulk pak)
This is the problem....

I've been thinking of a word that will let me describe Bulkpaq and I don't think I'll get away with posting any of them
Mig$y is offline  
Old 27 Feb 2005, 03:13 AM   #6
nwg
Left *****
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,196
Default

Bulkpaq discs are known to be very hit and miss regarding quality. They don't like being burned to the edge and prefer to have several hundred MB (at least 300MB) off the total size. They get very unstable and suffer from skipping and freezing.

They have tried using different dyes from other manufacturers but I won't use them.

I like Ritek made discs. Their brand names are best which are Ridisc, Ridata and Traxdata.
nwg is offline  
Old 27 Feb 2005, 03:31 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Warrington
Posts: 25
Default

there the ones i have just got as well the Ritek discs. I have noticed that with the bulk paq, bcoz even when i copy from a dvd they still freeze, i always thought i was doin something wrong. Never knew it was the media type! lol

Ill see if it does it now with these discs. Cheers
bulc9 is offline  
Old 27 Feb 2005, 03:45 AM   #8
nwg
Left *****
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,196
Default

Try not to burn higher than 4x. I still prefer to burn at 2x.
nwg is offline  
Old 27 Feb 2005, 03:57 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Warrington
Posts: 25
Default

Yep!!! hurrrayyyy!!!! Thanks everyone, simple solution but it worked!!! I burnt it at 4x

Finally. wouldnt have done it without ur help!! Would have just give up!! cheers everyone!

Paul
bulc9 is offline  
Old 28 Feb 2005, 06:01 AM   #10
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"cheers everyone!"

My (Our) pleasure ;>}
setarip is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:37 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com