Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Hosted Forums > DivXLand.org Support Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12 Oct 2010, 07:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently, a small town in the middle of nowhere.
Posts: 13
Question-2 Virtual Dub won't load the video...

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum, and already, I've run into a problem (or three) following the directions to embed the subtitles I've finished (my first subbing experience).

The video file I'm trying to load is an AVI, but for some reason, I get this error message: "Couldn't locate decompressor for format 'DX50' (unknown). Virtual Dub requires a Video for Windows (VFW) compatible codec to decompress video. DirectShow codecs, such as those used by Windows Media Player, are not suitable."

While we're on the subject of codecs, I downloaded and installed the DivX Total Pack 2.3, but nothing new shows up when I attempt the 4th step. Of course, since VirtualDub won't load the video in the first place, I'm getting ahead of myself, but still, I thought I'd mention that as long as I'm listing problems that I need help with (Pretty much steps 3 and 4).

Any help would be extremely appreciated.
Rusalka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Oct 2010, 11:13 AM   #2
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

I'm not that fluent in VD but I'm sure someone made some plugins that were just 2 or 3 line scripts that used DirectShowSource to load the file. You could try that approach or also try FourCC Changer:

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/AVI_FourCC_Code_Changer

Also you could use the xvid free codec.

If all else fails try Quick AVI Creator. It comes with xvid_encraw and you can use it to "burn in" subs.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Oct 2010, 01:08 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently, a small town in the middle of nowhere.
Posts: 13
Default

Well, I tried your first idea (I made a copy of the video I plan to embed my created subtitles, and pasted it to another drive, just in case). Unfortunately, I really don't know what I'm doing and messing with the codecs just made the video unplayable (and VirtualDub wouldn't have anything to do with it either).

So, I went and tried downloading Quick AVI Creator, but I'm not sure what to do with it. It didn't come with a "Read Me" file, and it looks like I can convert files, but I don't see anything about subbing.

Thank you for the suggestions though.
Rusalka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Oct 2010, 01:19 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently, a small town in the middle of nowhere.
Posts: 13
Default

Hmm, I thought I already had the Xvid free codec. What are you guys using to play AVIs? I use VLC Media Player for any video it will play... Could that have anything to do with the trouble?
Rusalka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Oct 2010, 05:44 PM   #5
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusalka View Post
Hmm, I thought I already had the Xvid free codec. What are you guys using to play AVIs? I use VLC Media Player for any video it will play... Could that have anything to do with the trouble?
VLC is independent of installed codecs.

Basic howto for quick avi creator:

http://download.videohelp.com/QuickAVICreator/

It uses AvsP to edit AviSynth scripts. VSFilter.dll lets you burn in subtitles. See the VobSub() and TextSub() functions(just google)

The basic usage is select the input file and the type of encoding. avi with xvid in this case. It will churn for awhile demuxing the audio and video. When it's done that, it may process the audio... then it pops up AvsP editor so you can add AviSynth statements to the script. See AviSynth for you to use it. But if you don't have any subtitles and don't need any filters to fix up the video, you would accept it as is and go into Tools and select Process Video. The gui then lets you select bit rate and other options. For xvid encoding basics see this thread:
http://www.mplayerhq.hu/DOCS/HTML/en...feat-xvid.html





For the xvid codec I'm not sure what's the best these days. I have Shark's Codec Pack for Vista and Windows7. If you're running XP you may just want the one from free-codecs.com. Or you can just get AutoGK as it comes with a multi-threaded xvid codec.

Last edited by MilesAhead; 12 Oct 2010 at 05:47 PM
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Oct 2010, 05:58 PM   #6
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusalka View Post
Hmm, I thought I already had the Xvid free codec. What are you guys using to play AVIs? I use VLC Media Player for any video it will play... Could that have anything to do with the trouble?
The simplest thing to try first my be installing AutoGK.
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/AutoGK

It comes with a multi-threaded xvid codec.

Another option is use AviDemux. You can add subs with the filters using it. I recommend either get v. 2.4 or use 2 pass mode. The 1 pass mode in v. 2.5 is unwatchable.

Step one is put xvid codec on via the AutoGK install and see if things act differently.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2010, 03:34 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently, a small town in the middle of nowhere.
Posts: 13
Default

I probably should have mentioned that there is already one subtitle track embedded which is in German. However, I'm trying to embed another set of subtitles in English (in a different color, which manages to show up and look legible enough)....
Rusalka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2010, 03:41 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently, a small town in the middle of nowhere.
Posts: 13
Default

I'm sorry, but I'm getting confused...
Rusalka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2010, 04:27 AM   #9
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Gspot

In the System Menu click on List Codecs and Other Filters.
See if xvid is in the list. If not, install it.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2010, 04:45 AM   #10
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

@Rusalka
As Milesahead had earlier suggested, install the Directshow Driver plugin for Virtualdub(http://forums.virtualdub.org/index.p...3&s=2b7ec5Nero Serial Removed4f) and you will be able to load your Xvid/Divx avi if you have the codecs(Divx or Xvid) installed in your system.

Another option is to install FFDSHOW and enable the Xvid/Divx decoder under VFW configuration.
__________________

ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF

Last edited by paglamon; 13 Oct 2010 at 04:49 AM
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2010, 10:02 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently, a small town in the middle of nowhere.
Posts: 13
Default

@Paglamon
Thank you! That at least got the video to load.

@MilesAhead
I tried installing the Gspot like you recommended, and it said that those codecs were already installed (I think.).

I'm crossing my fingers that I can finish the embedding process at last...
Rusalka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2010, 01:44 PM   #12
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

Good luck with it. The second time around is always way easier.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2010, 02:05 AM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently, a small town in the middle of nowhere.
Posts: 13
Default

Oh lovely (pardon my sarcasm), now when I try to export the file, it comes out in gigantic size, by the Gigs (I wouldn't want it over 700 MB!). Err, how do I fix this? I need it to be at least under 4 Gigs, so it can fit on a DVD when burned.
Rusalka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2010, 02:31 AM   #14
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
now when I try to export the file, it comes out in gigantic size,
....because you have not configured the Compression(under "Video") parameters in VD.
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2010, 03:02 AM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently, a small town in the middle of nowhere.
Posts: 13
Default

Ahhh! (*face palm*) Silly me. I'll go fiddle around with that now...
Rusalka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coregir video con virtual bud mentor53 Foro de Soporte de DivXLand.org 0 14 Jun 2009 02:40 AM
Can't load video file in virtual dub!!! coullis VirtualDub 1 16 Sep 2008 02:56 PM
Can't load video file in virtual dub!!! coullis General Discussions 5 13 Apr 2008 10:58 AM
can not load video stream? php111 TMPGEnc 2 3 Nov 2007 12:09 PM
Virtual Memory Issue/Too Much Video? katzdvd General Computing 1 28 Oct 2006 09:51 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:39 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com