Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Hosted Forums > DivXLand.org Support Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10 Mar 2010, 08:53 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default VirtualDubMod Error initializing audio stream compression

Hi everybody!

I have had problems when using VirtualDubMod since last week. When i open a video file in VirtualDubMod, it displays a message about VBR. Nothing new in that! So, i usually go to the stream list and convert the audio file to a wav format.

Well, the problem is that when i try to recompress it back to a MP3 format, using AC3, LameMP3 or any other, it displays the message:
" Error initializing audio stream compression: Teh requested conversion is not possible."

I have unistalled VirtualDubMOd, including some codecs and reinstalled all of them again and the problem persist.

Has anybody any idea about what"s going on?

Thanks for the help.

Gork
gork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2010, 12:20 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

Why do you compress/recompress the audio stream at all and not use direct stream?
__________________
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2010, 03:19 PM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
Well, the problem is that when i try to recompress it back to a MP3 format,
Please give the info about the parameters of the audio ,both the original and the one to which you wish to convert.
__________________

ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2010, 08:16 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Hi again. Thanks for responding.

Well, i don't know precisely what you need, but i selected a repost from the VirtualDubMod stream list. if it is not what you need i can do it again.

I got three samples and placed tehm together in a single report. So, we have there smple 1, sample 2 and 3.

sample 1

Input files :
- [C:\Documents and Settings\b\Desktop\wal.avi]

---== Video stream ==---
Source : [Input AVI file]
Description : AVI video stream
Length : 01:28:52.060

---== Other stream ==---
Source : [Input AVI file]
Description : AVI audio stream 1 [tag 0x0055, MPEG-1 Layer 3 (MP3)]
Length : 01:28:52.056

---== External stream ==---
Source : [C:\Documents and Settings\b\Desktop\Lessons\wal.wav]
Description : WAV file [tag 0x0001, Microsoft PCM Format]
Length : 01:28:52.056


sample 2

Input files :
- [C:\Documents and Settings\b\Desktop\sea.avi]

---== Video stream ==---
Source : [Input AVI file]
Description : AVI video stream
Length : 01:24:29.040

---== Other stream ==---
Source : [Input AVI file]
Description : AVI audio stream 1 [tag 0x2000, ATSC/A-52 (Dolby AC3)]
Length : 01:24:28.928

---== External stream ==---
Source : [C:\Documents and Settings\b\Desktop\Movie\sea.wav]
Description : WAV file [tag 0x0001, Microsoft PCM Format]
Length : 01:24:28.928


Sample 3

Input files :
- [C:\Documents and Settings\b\Desktop\Building.avi]

---== Video stream ==---
Source : [Input AVI file]
Description : AVI video stream
Length : 01:51:15.480

---== Other stream ==---
Source : [Input AVI file]
Description : AVI audio stream 1 [tag 0x0055, MPEG-1 Layer 3 (MP3)]
Length : 01:51:15.480

---== External stream ==---
Source : [C:\Documents and Settings\b\Desktop\Lessons\building.wav]
Description : WAV file [tag 0x0001, Microsoft PCM Format]
Length : 01:51:15.480

gork
gork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2010, 07:48 PM   #5
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

By parameters I meant sampling rate(in Hz or kHz),channels(stereo/mono), bitrate(kbps),CBR/VBR etc. Use Mediainfo to get this info.

Why are you using two audio streams ?
Can you briefly state what you are doing step-by-step ?
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2010, 11:00 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Hello Everybody. Ok Paglamon and sorry for taking too
long in answering.
Well, in short is as follows:

1 i open the video file and get a "improper VBR audio
encoding.."

2 i hit on the no button

3 i go to "streams>streams list".

4 i select the audio file and right click on it

5 i select " Full processing mode"

6 i select "conversion"

7 an audio conversion dialogue box appears. sometime i
change something, sometimes i don't. normaly i select
44,1, 8 bit, high quality and stereo and click ok.

8 then i select "save WAV"

9 i go back to "Streams>streams list" and click on the
"Add" button and i select the WAV format audio i
created.

10 i double click the other file to disable it

11 i right click the file i created and select "Full
processig mode" and the i select "Compression"

12 "Select audio compression" dialogue box appears

13 i usually select LameMP3 and 44,1, 192 kb/s, CBR.
Afeter that, i hit the ok button.

14 i click "video" on the dropdown menu and select
"direct streams copy"

15 after doing that i go to "file" and "Save as.." and
save it as an AVI file.

16 Imediately, the error message is displayed.

I tried to narrow it down, but if somebody it is
interested i created an attachment in case somebody
else wants to see it.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Steps VirtualDubMod.pdf‎ (911.2 KB, 629 views)
gork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2010, 11:10 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Ah yes, i have the paremeters of two audios files. i attached so that they don´t take too much space.

gork
Attached Files
File Type: txt ORIGINAL FILE.txt‎ (2.1 KB, 315 views)
File Type: txt VIDEO 2 ORIGINAL FILE.txt‎ (2.4 KB, 318 views)
gork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2010, 03:53 PM   #8
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Ok. Your problem area is clear from the PDF file. You tried to compress a 44100Hz file to a 48000Hz file WTHOUT first doing the conversion. In step 7, select 48100Hz.
Why are you creating an intermediate WAV file ?

BTW,VBR audio is quite standard for an avi file. It is just that VD does not like it. Why not try AVIDemux instead ?
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 04:44 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Ok. I'll try to do it the way you said and see what's gonna happen.

Well, about your question of creating an intermediate file, i created it
so that i could place fixed subtitles on videos. I work as a volunteer in
translating and putting subtitles in educational videos. The problem is
that these videos have to be in a format that don't take too much space
(although they are only 15 to 20 minutes long) and can be played in any
dvd player device and can be easily distributed, mainly in a PENDRIVE.

This way, they are recorded as AVI file seeing that the majority of dvd
players nowadays have a USB device and you can place several lessons in a single DVD Disc.

The subtitles have to be fixed in order not to create problems when playing,
well, that's what i've been told. This way, after having recompressed the audio back to a MP3 file, i use AVIRecomp to create the fixed subtitles with the video and the audio file.

Well, I'll try the AVIDemux too, because as you could notice i'm not an
expert on dealing with videos.

Thanks a lot,

Gork

Last edited by gork; 14 Mar 2010 at 04:47 AM
gork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 04:54 AM   #10
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
Well, about your question of creating an intermediate file, i created it
so that i could place fixed subtitles on videos.
How does the intermediate WAV audio file help you in placing subtitles ?
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2010, 11:15 PM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Hi again,



Well, Intermediate WAV files help when placing permanent Substation Alpha (SSA)subtitles using AVIRecomp. It seems that this kind of subtitle

doesn´t work very well with VBR, so we have to convert the original audio file into a WAV file so that it be easier to choose new parameters when recompressig it back to MP3. What i want to point out here is that, as i told before, i'm not an expert on dealing with videos, so i can´t assure you that´s the correct way of doing it.



By the way i tried to do it the way you told me, but it didn't work. I formatted my computer because i thought that could be the system, but the problem persists.



Gork
gork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2010, 04:42 AM   #12
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Can you upload a very small segment(even 30 sec. will do) of your original file so that I can try to simulate your problem and get a possible solution ?
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2010, 06:39 AM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Hi again Paglamon.

I think it was a bad "image" of the system. I formatted the computer again and didn't use the system "image", i installed all programs again, one by one. Well, as a miracle it started to work all right again. Uf! Let's start working!

Thanks for the help pal.
gork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2010, 07:29 PM   #14
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Good luck mate.
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 pass compression issue with VirtualDubMod elio1234 VirtualDub 0 24 Nov 2007 03:04 AM
Compression OGG Vorbis avec VirtualDubMod julien.favre En Français 2 4 Sep 2003 11:28 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:04 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com