Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12 Sep 2003, 04:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Default 2 full dvd's on 1 dvdr

Is there a way to copy 2 dvd's (incl. menu & extras) on 1 dvdr?

I also want to make a new menu where I choose between the two other movies....

Is there a way I can do this?

Regards Ola
olanordmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Sep 2003, 06:52 PM   #2
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Anyone ????
olanordmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Sep 2003, 04:30 AM   #3
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

1) Not including the original menus

2) Use DVD Shrink v.3.0 beta 5 to rip each of the two DVDs to your hard drive

3) Use DVD Shrink v.3.0 beta 5 in re-author mode to make one DVD "package" (of approximately 4.3Gb) of movie titles and extras from both DVDs

4) Use "TMPGEnc DVD Author" (different than "TMPGEnc") to create a menu of ALL the TITLES (movies and extras) each as SEPARATE tracks


Let us know of your success ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Sep 2003, 04:38 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Default

It's not exacty what I want (it doesn't support original menues), but it's a good solution that I will try tonight...

However, I still want to try to keep the original menus......
olanordmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Sep 2003, 02:34 AM   #5
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"However, I still want to try to keep the original menus......"

You are not the first poster trying to accomplish this - nor has any other poster provided a means to do this...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Sep 2003, 12:57 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Default

I've figured out how to do multiple films with multiple sound and sub tracks using tmpeg dvd author and ifo edit.

As an experiment I tried what is being asked with the original menus from MASH the movie.

The Gallery can be inserted directly.

Problems arise with the original main menu, it references titleset directly.

If a second film was added and it too accessed titleset 2,3 or what ever directly it would show film one's extras not it's own.

I've been trying to see if the title set references can be editted in ifoedit, but i think it's very complicated - the closest i found was a guide on pgc editting.

If the references could be moved up, i think it can be done.
scissors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Sep 2003, 06:16 PM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Default

I'll try to learn myself TmpGenc DVD Author and IFO Edit and see if I can figure something out.

Thanx.
olanordmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Sep 2003, 11:52 PM   #8
maa
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 49
Default

The menus are in the "0.VOBs" the menu commands in the "0.IFOs"
Problems start when have a look at the commands of a multiple VTS (They nearly all are) and see that the command structure is not only complicated but very dependant on the VIDEO_TS.IFO of which there can only be one.

The best you can do is to use the 0.VOBs to re-create some of the menus for each film.
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Sep 2003, 02:27 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Default

I'm not 100% sure of that.

I may be wrong but it appears button command are in the actual VOB!!!

Surprised me, but that is how the program menuedit seems to work.

Seems both the VOB and IFO do the work :0(
scissors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Sep 2003, 03:18 AM   #10
maa
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 49
Default

Your're right of course - the buttons themselves are in the 0.VOBs and also contain commands so it gets worse instead of better...
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Sep 2003, 07:49 PM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 43
Default Re: 2 full dvd's on 1 dvdr

Quote:
Originally posted by olanordmann
Is there a way to copy 2 dvd's (incl. menu & extras) on 1 dvdr?

I also want to make a new menu where I choose between the two other movies....

Is there a way I can do this?

Regards Ola
It's easy !
programs needed: DVD Decrypter, DVD2One, Nero.
Use DVD Decrypter in File Mode, and select all files,
Decrypt this lot, DVD Decrypter makes a directory from the discs
volume name, select this directory in DVD2One (1.30) as source,
select a destination directory in DVD2One, use option full/complete disc, click next, select the streams you want to keep,
audio/subtitels, and start ! this way yo keep the menus,
you can also use dvdSchrink instead of dvd20ne, but i did not
try this one.
__________________
Thanks,

David.
David_Janssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Sep 2003, 08:01 PM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re: Re: 2 full dvd's on 1 dvdr

Quote:
Originally posted by David_Janssen
It's easy !
programs needed: DVD Decrypter, DVD2One, Nero.
Use DVD Decrypter in File Mode, and select all files,
Decrypt this lot, DVD Decrypter makes a directory from the discs
volume name, select this directory in DVD2One (1.30) as source,
select a destination directory in DVD2One, use option full/complete disc, click next, select the streams you want to keep,
audio/subtitels, and start ! this way yo keep the menus,
you can also use dvdSchrink instead of dvd20ne, but i did not
try this one.
This is how you should make a copy of ONE dvd and not TWO....

Ola
olanordmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Sep 2003, 08:18 PM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Default

maybe mr janssen should change his name to dell boy

Anyway...

I'm waiting for my doom9 posting ability to clear so i can ask the authors if THIS is possible.

Create a menu with tmpeg dvd author to two small mgs.
Create the title set.
Take the 0.VOBs from the two titlesets being made and use a vob merger to make one big vts1_0.vob
use menuedit to edit the first two button to jump to other screens in the vob, rather than call the titles,
edit most of the other buttons to call the correct screens and the two titlesets.
use ifoedit to update the vts sectors.

Like i said i have no posting ability on doom9 yet.
scissors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Sep 2003, 08:48 PM   #14
maa
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 49
Default

Well I usually live at doom9

Have a look at your IFOs in IfoEdit.
Look in VTS_01_0.IFO in VTSM_PGCI_UT this is where the menu commands are stored (apart from the actual buttons)
Here you see the LUs and PGC Menus
Each PGC relates to menu screen that you see during playback.
Open the first one and scroll down to the Command Table.
Look at all those commands !
Also look in VIDEO_TS.IFO at the menu commands and look in VTS_PGCITTI / PGC_1 at the commands.

This is very complicated stuff and it will take you a few months to even begin to get the hang of this programming structure which is different from DVD to DVD.

No one has proposed a method - or even instructions for a single *pair* of films - for merging two navigation menus.

In certain cases it is possible that a VTS has its own self contained menu command structure and this can be merged into a multiple VTS but this is very rare. (e.g. the game in Stuart Little)

If you do it - post a guide !

Last edited by maa; 26 Sep 2003 at 08:51 PM
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Sep 2003, 10:59 PM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Default

well i alrady have a tinker with ifoedit.
I need to for when i have 2+ films with subtitles and multiple audio tracks.

Now I might be wrong here - but when i add a title set created by ifoedit to a tmpeg dvd authored disc i have to do a few things.

1) paste the subtitle colours - otherwise they stay green
2) add the pre command to turn them off by default, or the correct ones on if they are forced (godfather etc)
3)add a post command to call the main menu when the film finishes, otherwise the dvd stops.

Now i might be wrong, cus i have only ever done what i've needed to do, BUT all the commands in the titleset itself /seem/ to be to me if you hit the return to menu button, change subs,language etc, nothing to do with the program chain.

The reason I say this is i knocked up a quick 2 title disc in tmpeg dvd author and examined the menu IFO. It seems that is where the title call is done.

I also used menu edit to swap them around via the buttons.

I also examined the menus in gremlins using menu edit, the calls all seem to be (i forget the exact syntax) get the next menu, button 0, go to top of chain. Call this title set.

If you could merge a simple 2 button menu to the 2 original menu vobs as one big vob, could not these calls just be shuffled down?
scissors is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:18 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com