Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18 May 2003, 08:12 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Question-2 ac3 to dvd

Ok Probably been here befor. But I've got an avi file that using a ac3 sound stream. If I use tmpgenc to convert to mpeg - no sound. If I strip the ac3 file out and put it back in as a wav file then encode using tmpgenc again - sync problems.

Is it possible to use some software to convert the avi file as it is to an Mpeg and keep all the sound properties etc.

Heres hoping.
tonythepony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2003, 10:02 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

In TMPGEnc, under the "Environmental Settings" "VFAPI plugin" tab rightclick on the "Direct Show Multimedia Reader" and increase to the highest priority. This will enable TMPGEnc to accept a properly encoded .AVI with .AC3 audio for input...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2003, 06:29 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Default


This was already set to the highest priority - 4. I have no problems encoding avi's with 2 channel sound - only when the avi has an ac3 format do I get no sound on the output.

If i remove the ac3 convert it and put it back in as a wav then I get sound allthough a lot of the time I get sync problems.

To convert as ac3 and keep the surround sound would be nice.

Where am I going wrong - is it possible.
tonythepony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2003, 07:08 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Default


This was already set to the highest priority - 4. I have no problems encoding avi's with 2 channel sound - only when the avi has an ac3 format do I get no sound on the output.

If i remove the ac3 convert it and put it back in as a wav then I get sound allthough a lot of the time I get sync problems.

To convert as ac3 and keep the surround sound would be nice.

Where am I going wrong - is it possible.
tonythepony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2003, 02:02 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Default AC3

I have had similar problems except I get a high pitch noise using an AC3 audio file. I have tried Sonic foundry 5.1 plugin to create the file and when it's done I am unable to hear it. Even if I burn the file to an audio disc I get the same results. Sonic Vegas wont accept it at all. So i am also at a loss. All I want to do is create my own DVD's with surround sound. Please can some one help.
Regards

Trev
TrevB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2003, 03:54 AM   #6
Member
Member
 
mikeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: göteborg
Posts: 68
Default hum...

You should do like this..
The AC3 file won't be able to play in for ex. windows mediaplayer or winamp, but if you have Creative Playcenter it will work..

To author the movie with dolby-sound, u can use sonic foundry dvd architect (www.sonicfoundry.com) and it will work out all fine!

I had the same problem, but now it all works out fine.. with dolby digital 2.0 or 5.1

cheers..
mikeey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2003, 03:57 AM   #7
Member
Member
 
mikeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: göteborg
Posts: 68
Default +

I made my AC3 file form Sonic Foundry Vegas 4, and also got theese high-pitching noise from the speakers.. tested it with creative playcenter that supports 5.1, then it worked..

So a GREAT TIP for editing/authoring is:

USE SONIC FOUNDRY VEGAS 4 (built in Dolby Digital)
AND SONIC FOUNDRY DVD ARCHITECT...

..burn with Nero (or architect)
mikeey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2003, 04:05 AM   #8
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default To tonythepony

Do you know whether there's a multiple .AC3 stream?
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jun 2003, 08:49 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Default ac3 to DVD

Thanks Mickeey. It worked just like you said. Although I have to learn how to use DVD Architect. I noticed that the sub didn't have a specific signal to it on my home theatre centre. Maybe something I'm doing. At least I'm now on the right track.

Thanks Heaps

Trev
TrevB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jun 2003, 01:04 AM   #10
Member
Member
 
mikeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: göteborg
Posts: 68
Default

setarip> What do you mean? If there is possible to use for ex 5 different sounds in 5 different speakers on 5.1..? or?
Don't really understand english soo good...

TrevB> I'm happy for you! Cheers!
Maby you can tell me more about this sib-thing u asked...
Because I wan't to know how I can put multiple subtitles to a DVD.. so in the menu u can choose wich language...

The only thing I know is to use VirtualDub as a frameserver (using the subtitle script there..) and rendering the movie with a ssa-subtitle in TMPEGEncoder..

Thanks..
mikeey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jun 2003, 09:21 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Wink-2 AC3 to DVD

Hi Mikeey. The sub thing is the Sub Woofer. It wasn't receiving a signal to it. Maybe the LFE frequency wasn't low enough for it to have been sent to the Sub Woofer (Sub). Aussie lingo (Talk). Sorry mate.
Inregards to your other problem, I'm not sure myself. However I will try and help you find an answer so we will both know. I would like to know how to add or encode multiple audio tracks, e.g. 5.1, PCM or even different languages. However this is not a priority at this stage. I'm trying to produce customised DVD's for potential customers. Using there photos or home movies etc. Anyway I'll speak to you soon

Regards

TrevB
TrevB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jun 2003, 09:32 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Talking AC3 to DVD

Thanks to you Mickeey I am now producing DVD's in surround sound. I've even got the Sub woofer working. Once again thanks heaps for putting me in the right direction.
Trev B
TrevB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com