Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30 Apr 2004, 02:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default Authored DVD is cropped when played on standalone player

I've created a short film (in standard TV 4:3 aspect ratio) from DV footage using Adobe Premiere 7, exported it using the built-in media encoder to an MPEG-2 file suitable for DVD, and then used Ulead DVD Workshop 2 to author an burn the DVD. It plays back perfectly on any computer i've tried using Power DVD, but when played on our Wharfedale standalone DVD player the video is cropped so that the edges are missing; my estimate would be that as much as 1/4 of the total width and height may be missing.

Anyone got any ideas why this might be happening? I did wonder if it was just our cheap standalone player, but then it doesn't do it to commercial DVDs.

Appreciate any clues, cheers.
rhythmace1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2004, 10:16 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Check your PLAYER's settings - Usually have the following options:

4:3
4:3 Pan&Scan
16:9/4:3

Try each of them...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 May 2004, 11:20 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I'm having a similar problem.
Link to my post

I tried changing the aspect ratio of the DVD player but that didn't solve the problem. I have a Toshiba VCR/DVD Combo and an APEX 3-disc DVD player. Neither could play the DVD properly.
juchima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jun 2004, 08:38 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I've checked all the player settings and the TV, it's definitely not that. There must be something about the DVD itself which causes it to not play properly on the standalone player. It's driving me mad!
rhythmace1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jun 2004, 10:34 PM   #5
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: salisbury, UK
Posts: 2,399
Default

I'm not at my home machine but I'm pretty certain DVD Decrypter will confirm the resolution your discs are authored. I think it's file mode but may be one of the others.
No ideas on conversion - probably easier to start again.
__________________
This isn't a learning curve ... this is b****y mountaineering!
sfheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jun 2004, 12:54 AM   #6
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
Default

It's called TV Overscan. Every TV set is different, some much worse than others, and there's only one thing you can do about it.
Encode your video letterboxed, and author it in an application that takes into account the overscan (DVDLab is great).
__________________
My DVDLab (and other) Guides
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:17 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com