Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14 Jan 2012, 07:53 AM   #1
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default Canít insert Set STN commands

I wish to change a videoís default audio language. After First Play navigation moves to two PGCs (# 4 and 2) within the Video Manager domain (the only pre-commands being the respective Jump commands) before calling VMGM1 where the Main Menu is located. When I try to Paste before the command [51 00 00 81 80 00 00 00] in PGC4 or 2, PgcEdit indicates that this is not allowed. If this is so, am I obliged to introduce indirect SetSTN commands (there are none at present) ?
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jan 2012, 12:34 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

It's not the direct or indirect mode of the SetSTN command that is prohibited. You cannot use SetSTN in the VMG (First-Play PGC and VMGM). It's a (stupid) limitation of the DVD-Video standard. You must put the command in a VTST or VTSM PGC.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
Unofficial mirror (in Poland)
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2012, 01:52 AM   #3
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

Many thanks for the explanation.

I have created a new dummy PGC (# 4) in the Menu domain to add the relevant commands. However, all the JumpSS commands that I have checked out go from the VM domain to a specific Menu type (similarly all JumpTT commands navigate to numbered Title PGCs). Is there a further limitation here?
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2012, 02:29 AM   #4
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

Yes. Again, it's a stupid limitation. You can jump to a menu PGC in the VTSM domains only if it is an "entry menu" (ie e menu that is also callable with the remote, such as RootM, AngleM...).

There are two possible workarounds:
  1. Define your menu as an entry menu (right-click the PGC and select "Set Menu Type"), but take in mind that that menu will be also callable with the remote, so you may have to set a Prohibited User Operation in all title and menu non-dummy PGCs of the same VTS, to prohibit jumping to the PGC with the remote. (For example, if you have created a new AngleM entry menu, you should set the "Menu Call - Angle" PUO in all VTSM and VTST PGCs with playable content, in the same VTS. You don't need to set the PUO in the other VTSses, as there is no way to jump to a VTSM entry menu from another VTS.)
  2. You can also set a free GPRM to 1, then jump to an existing entry menu PGC, and in that entry menu, check if the GPRM value is equal to 1. If it's the case, reset the free GPRM to 0 (so that the next time the menu is called your new commands will not be executed) and jump from the entry menu to your new dummy PGC. Otherwise, execute the original pre-commands of the entry menu PGC.
    For example, if GPRM 15 is free (you can check the free GPRMs with Info -> GPRMs), and your new dummy PGC is PGC #99, then you should use something like this:
    • In your VMGM menu, set GPRM 15 = 1, then jump to, say, the RootM of the target VTSM.
    • In the RootM of the target VTSM, insert something like this at the beginning of the pre-commands area:
      Code:
      [00 B1 00 0F 00 01 00 04]   1  if ( gprm(15) != 1 ) then { Goto line 4 } 
      [71 00 00 0F 00 00 00 00]   2  Set gprm(15) =(mov) 0 
      [20 04 00 00 00 00 00 63]   3  LinkPGCN PGC 99 
      [00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00]   4  NOP 
      (original pre-commands here)

Last edited by r0lZ; 18 Jan 2012 at 02:31 AM
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Jan 2012, 01:15 AM   #5
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

Thanks very much for the explanation and code. I chose the second option and all's well.
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interpret these Commands peterk DVD Authoring and Editing 8 26 Sep 2009 03:16 PM
Commands gone Wrong in PgcEdit peterk DVD Authoring and Editing 4 11 May 2007 08:47 PM
Graduating With Commands Phillip General Computing 1 7 Jan 2007 03:49 AM
ImgToolBurn- no commands listed ?? lemonyx ImgBurn 3 21 Mar 2006 11:55 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:36 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com