Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17 Sep 2002, 06:38 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Default CCE field order

Is it just me or will CCE not encode video with bottom first field order? I've tried full 2.50 and 2.64, and the latest trial version of SP from their website. Even if I uncheck the box that says "Upper Field First", it still encodes with upper field first. I'm trying to encode DV video, so it's really noticeable, the reversed field order. Anyone know of a workaround or alternate encoders I can use. Will tmpgenc 2-pass produce decent results @ 9000KB/s DVD MPG2?
Smahatma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Sep 2002, 11:39 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

I use TMPGenc, and am very pleased with the results. You should check it out. There are many options/filters that you can apply to produce desired results. Vcdhelp.com explains these filters/options. TMPGenc plus may reduce encoding time
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Sep 2002, 11:46 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Default

hehe, big big thanks to robshot who helped me out. Turns out this is a flaw with CCE, but theres a workaround. After encoding, apply pulldown as follows:
PHP Code:
pulldown.exe source.m2v target.m2v -nopulldown -tff even 
. This changes the field order to bottom first (even). This line also works if you want to convert it to top first, by substituting -tff odd instead of -tff even.


P.S. CCE is way faster than TMPGEnc
Smahatma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Sep 2002, 04:38 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
oddyseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hellas
Posts: 13
Default

cce encodes allways Top Field First. What it does actually is changing the order of the fields so that bottom field is up and top field is at the bottom when u choose bottom field first.
oddyseus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Oct 2002, 08:17 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1
Default pulldown.exe

Hello

Would some kind sole please direct me to where I might get pulldown.exe or send it to my email address?

thanks
ChuckH
chuggard1@cox.net
ChuckH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 05:48 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com