Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17 Jun 2005, 02:10 AM   #1
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Default Changing Resolution

I'm trying to author a movie with TMPGEnc but it says the resolution needs to be changed in order to be compatible. How do you change resolution? Thanks.
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 07:30 AM   #2
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
Default

Re-Encode it.
What resolution is it now (and it's framerate) and what resolution do you need?
__________________
My DVDLab (and other) Guides
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 08:23 AM   #3
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default To Keaton231

"I'm trying to author a movie with TMPGEnc but it says the resolution needs to be changed in order to be compatible."

Although your statement is a bit unclear, I'm guessing that you actually are trying to author a DVD, using "TMPGEnc DVD Author" ( which is different than "TMPGEnc")


"How do you change resolution?"

One set of procedures (other posters may/probably will suggest alternative methods) would be:

One set of procedures (other posters may/probably will suggest alternative methods) would be:

1) If not already DVD-compliant, use "TMPGEnc" (or "TMPGEncPlus") to convert the video to compliant MPEG2-for-DVD format - Use "TMPGEnc's" DVD wizard/template to accomplish this (This step may not be necessary, if your MPEG-2 files are already in DVD compliant format)

2) Use "TMPGEnc DVD Author" (a different program than "TMPGEnc") to easily create the required additional DVD files and structure (and chapters and a menu, if you wish)


**If the combined filesize of the DVD "package" written to your hard drive is greater than 4.37Gb, use DVD Shrink (or similar) to compress


If your O/S is either Win2000 or WinXP, TMPGEnc DVD Author can also burn your DVD. Otherwise, use NERO to burn in "DVD-Video" mode
(As an alternative to "TMPGEnc DVD Author", you could use "DVDLab")


Let us know of your success ;>}


If you have more questions, always feel free to ask them...

Some people can't see the forest for the trees. Most times, simple is better;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 12:02 PM   #4
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Question

Sorry if my questions were unclear. My current resolution is 640x288 and TMPGEnc DVD-Author says that I need 720x480. I already have converted the file to MPEG-2 and now I am just trying to author it. So really the only question I have is how to change the resolution to 720x480.
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 12:04 PM   #5
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Question

Oh and also my framerate is 29.97 fps. Thanks for the help.
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 12:07 PM   #6
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

refer to step one by setarip. run it through tempgenc (plus) to re-encode it to the proper resolution.
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 12:23 PM   #7
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Will it degrade the quality at all if I re-encode it?
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 12:37 PM   #8
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

no, you'll see the end result will be nice.

as a test, let it encode enough for a qiuck viewing and abort the encoding and play it back and compare to the original if you want

then just set it back up again and let it finish
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 01:29 PM   #9
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Umm are there any specifications I need to enable before encoding it? For some reason when I try to encode an .avi, it creates a .wav and an .m2v file. Is this normal? How do I view it like columbo999 said? Whenever I try playing the files after I abort the encoding, it won't play.
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 01:30 PM   #10
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

on the last screen before the encode i like to uncheck that box under the filename where it refers to elementary streams. this will give you one file. try it.
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 11:46 PM   #11
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Question

Ok I encoded it but I still don't know what to do with those .wav and .m2v files. Did I not specify the output file correctly?
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jun 2005, 11:48 PM   #12
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Question

And also where it tells me to locate the video file I can do that fine, but what do I do about the slot with the audio?
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2005, 12:05 AM   #13
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

with the method i mentioned you will not have those 2 files, rather ONE file (mpeg-2).

just load the m2v file in dvd author and don't worry about the wav file. it should have sound after it's authored.
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2005, 01:00 AM   #14
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Question

I see what you are saying about the elementary systems. I tried unchecking them, but the area is shaded in preventing me from it. So what do I do now?

Last edited by Keaton231; 18 Jun 2005 at 01:35 AM Reason: Forgotten Question?
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2005, 01:59 AM   #15
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 76
Question

Was there something else I was also supposed to do with the audio because I'm not getting any audio on my DVD.
Keaton231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:46 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com