Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24 Jan 2004, 06:09 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Cool-2 Checking DVD on HD before burning

<-- New

Is there any software programs with which i could check the ...playability of a ripped DVD movie on the HD before creating a coaster ?

My burner: Plextor 708A

Thanks in advance
Corsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jan 2004, 06:22 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
tigerman8u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,123
Default

I use windvd. nero 6 ultra will do this also, and power dvd. check here in the tools section www.dvdrhelp.com
tigerman8u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jan 2004, 06:31 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 35
Default

I just use Power DVD "Open DVD File From Hard Disk Drive"

Also If I need to check a .ISO (image) I mount the image
using Alcohol 120%, then use power DVD.
Crashed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jan 2004, 08:19 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Default What about ifoedit ?

Thanks guys, Tierman8U and crashed
I've visited the http://www.dvdrhelp.com/ site and found it
very interesting.

Instead of watching the whole movie witn WinDVD or PowerDVD
is there something else just to check if the rip is readable ?
I heard that "Ifoedit" can do the job, but i dont know how !
Corsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2004, 05:19 AM   #5
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Instead of watching the whole movie witn WinDVD or PowerDVD
You don't need to watch the whole movie. Just skipping through the chapters is usually a good enough indication.
ashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2004, 11:09 PM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks ashy.
I agree wu & i do it all the time.
Still i wonder if there's a way with Ifoedit to inspect the movie.

Corsair from Olympic Athens
Corsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2004, 11:42 PM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Default

Ok guys, this is what i heard.

Rip the DVD to your hard drive in File Mode using DVD Decrypter. Then open the VIDEO_TS.IFO file with IfoEdit and click the "Get VTS Sectors" button and answer Yes to opening all the files.

If all the files open and you get no message boxes appear, then the original DVD rip is fine.

You can do the same check after shrinking with "DVD Shrink".

I've test it once and found it working.
I like to hear your results.
Corsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jan 2004, 12:35 AM   #8
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 253
Default

I doubt that is a very reliable check.
It will simply update the VTS sectors, but won't actually check the structure and the playability of the DVD.
There are many other variables that can affect the correct play of a DVD not just VTS sectors.

I doubt you are gonna find any other way of checking more reliable than simply just playing the DVD.
You could use WINDVD in 60x mode to play through the disk. It will play through a 2 hour movie in 2 mins.
If there is a problem with playback WINDVD will show it.
ashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jan 2004, 01:14 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 35
Default

When I check a DVD on the HDD
I don't sit there for hours @ 1x

4x - 16x does the job, sometimes faster depending on what
player I'm using as my Power DVD likes to bomb out @ 32x

One day I will update it.
Crashed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jan 2004, 07:47 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks Ashy & Crashed
I suppose you're right.
My real consern is that, sometimes ( not very often) a copied DVD will play fine on the PC but not on a standalone (pioneer).
3 out of 10 of my copies seems to freeze after playing 70-80% of the movie.
I've tried almost all ripping & burning software just to exclude the
possibility of incompatability or rip failure and then focus on media quality.
I tend to use DvDFab and DvDxCopy more and burn with Clone DvD. TraxData and TDK is the media brands i use.

Waiting for your suggestions.
Corsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2004, 07:45 AM   #11
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
3 out of 10 of my copies seems to freeze after playing 70-80% of the movie.
This is almost always the brand of disk you are using and/or burn speed.
ashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jan 2004, 08:12 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Cool-2

Quote:
This is almost always the brand of disk you are using and/or burn speed.
So you really thing that, burning at 4x can mess with quality even when using good media ?
That's bad news ashy...!!
Corsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Feb 2004, 04:41 PM   #13
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,279
Default

Corsair,

Hi,

I've made hundreds of back-ups that are PS2, XBox, and standalone (95 + %) compliant and I don't have to do all of that verifying. Really, spending an hour or two to verify a $1.00 dvd writeable disc. Somebody told you wrong, so, not your fault.

You can use DVDShrink v. 3. 0 Beta 5 to open those files and if your system is working correctly (and 'Shrink), 'Shrink will tell you in less than a minute (on 90 % +) whether the hdd novie is correct. If 'Shrink does the opening and then opens for re-author, the structure is most usually correct.

You can always rip with DVDDecrypter in files mode, all files and then open shrink to 'shrink and/or reauthor that D-9 movie.
__________________
Rig :

P - 4 @ 1.7 Ghz, 768 mb (133) Ram, Intel 845 chipset M'board, Seagate 60 Gig., 5400 rpsm hdd, Maxtor 40 Gig. 7200 rpm hdd, Hauppauge 880 pvr card, etc.. O.S. - XP Home Edition.

Last edited by Quality's Proof; 3 Feb 2004 at 04:45 PM
Quality's Proof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Feb 2004, 04:07 AM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Cool-2

Tks Quality's Proof

Sorry for the delay

You're right and they are right as well.
Tried both methods and i've found they work fine.

Nowdays i'm using Traxdata with 0% errors.

But there's another problem !!

No more good movies !!!!
Corsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Feb 2004, 11:38 AM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 21
Default

Hi, I'm a newbie here...a friend of mind couldn't play my dvd's on his stand alone player but he could play his...come to find out if I didn't put a cd label on the dvd it would play on his player....looks like some stand alone players run hot and the glue under the label must cause something to overheat......
__________________
Knowledge is Power
rosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:22 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com