Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 1 Mar 2005, 09:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default DV AVI => MPEG2 on WinXP SP2?

Good morning,

I am new on this board and have been looking around for a while to find a solution for my problem with converting DV AVI to MPEG 2.

After upgrading my CPU to an AMD XP 2700 and installing WinXP Pro incl. SP2, converting doen't work like it used to do. I can capture DV AVI from my camera, but as soon as I try to convert (during capturing or afterwards) to MPEG 2, I get various system errors and the application hangs. It doen't matter whether I use Pinnacle Studio 9 (or 9 plus / latest version), Magix Filme auf CD und DVD or TMPGEnc. After a few minutes conversion stops with one of these errors, e. g. TMPGEnc says "External error...".

Since in the "old world", i. e. with WinXP Pro without any SP, everything worked fine, it might have to do with XP's SP2, but I have no clue how to work around.

Anybody got any idea?

Thanks & regards
engel@wolke7 is offline  
Old 2 Mar 2005, 02:59 AM   #2
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
Default

Uninstall SP2 and complain loudly to MS.
__________________
My DVDLab (and other) Guides
reboot is offline  
Old 2 Mar 2005, 05:56 AM   #3
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default

In addition to what "reboot" stated, Uninstall SP2, and download the "Full" network version of SP2 (NOT the express) version. However, download and install it from "Safe Mode". I went through this before with a knowledgable tech from Microsoft. The express version has been known to somtimes get corrupted (and corrupt other files such as drivers and .dlls) when downloaded and installed.
ormonde is offline  
Old 3 Mar 2005, 11:11 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks, did the download and installation from "safe" mode, tried again and - same result. I am running out of ideas now...
engel@wolke7 is offline  
Old 4 Mar 2005, 02:35 AM   #5
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
Default

Rid yourself of SP2 and go back to SP1. Your problems disappear.
reboot is offline  
Old 4 Mar 2005, 02:56 AM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: salisbury, UK
Posts: 2,399
Default

Alas many new users are lumbered with SP2 from scratch.
I was wondering as this is similar to an issue on a game forum I visit; has anyone tried running in Win98 compatibility mode?

In your case Engel, you might try Pinnacle or TMPGEnc by right-clicking the shortcut, select properties and from memory, there's a compatibility mode there somewhere. It'll take a time to switch modes but I'd be interested to know if it works.
__________________
This isn't a learning curve ... this is b****y mountaineering!
sfheath is offline  
Old 4 Mar 2005, 05:29 AM   #7
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default engel@wolke7

I have a "Sneaking Suspicion" that SP2 is not the root of your problem. Try using "AVSVideoConverter".

Last edited by ormonde; 4 Mar 2005 at 05:31 AM
ormonde is offline  
Old 5 Mar 2005, 05:43 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for your ongoing support. I have tried the compatibility mode for W98 - without success: "External exception C000001D"
I googled in order to get an explanation for this error message but could not find anything useful.
Will try AVSVideoConverter now.
engel@wolke7 is offline  
Old 5 Mar 2005, 08:45 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Well, I hate to say it, but AVS delivers the same result. In the meantime, I installed Tsunami Codec Pack 3.9.9. just to be sure that I have the right codec installed, however, this did not help either. I think I will try with my old CPU tomorrow since I get the feeling that the trouble might be caused by a hardware issue. Any further comments welcome...
engel@wolke7 is offline  
Old 5 Mar 2005, 09:13 AM   #10
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default engel@wolke7

Have you "Defragmented" your Hard Drive lately?
ormonde is offline  
Old 6 Mar 2005, 11:29 PM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Removed AMD XP2700, reinstalled XP1700 - et voila: 5 hours of encoding without a hitch at CPU temperatures of 37 to 42░C. Now, it seems that my system somehow doesn't like the XP2700 or the temperature of ca. 60░C it creates, but I guess that's a question for a different forum...
Again, thanks for your support.
engel@wolke7 is offline  
Old 7 Mar 2005, 12:42 AM   #12
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default

Glad to hear that you resolved your problem...
ormonde is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com