Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23 Aug 2003, 09:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Question DVD Lab Help Please

Hi all

I have just burned a dvd-r using DVD Lab. Compiled it in DVD Lab and then burned it using Nero (DVD Lab would'nt burn a dvdr directly I got a few errors - I dont think it could work with my Pioneer A06, although it did recognise it).

Well the DVD plays fine in both of my stand alone DVD players, but it won't play on my PC with Power DVD, just locks and refuses to play.
Has anyone else had this happen?

Any help greatly appreciated

Dan Hawkes
dandino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 12:36 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Are you trying to play it back using the same burner that burned it, or a different DVD ROM/player that's part of your PC system?

If you're trying a diferent DVD ROM/player, it's possible that it doesn't recognize DVD-Rs. Try playing back from the burner...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 01:53 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Default

Hi Setarip

I'm trying to play it back in the same burner that burned it, the Pioneer A06, but it definately won't play back.

I think it may be to do with how I am burnning with Nero.

I chose "DVD Video" from the compilation window in Nero, is that correct? or is that just for playing in stand alone DVD players? Maybe I should have chosen "DVD ROM (ISO)" so that it would also play on my PC - I don't know I'm only a newbie.

Any help appreciated
Dan Hawkes
dandino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 02:42 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"I chose 'DVD Video' from the compilation window in Nero, is that correct?"

That is correct for ALL playback hardware.

1) Have you successfully played ANY burned DVDs with PowerDVD? (Which did you use - burner for playback or another DVD ROM/player?)

2) Have you successfully played ANY commercial DVDs with PowerDVD? (Which did you use - burner for playback or another DVD ROM/player?)

3) Are you using a purchased and/or free trial version of PowereDVD - or did you obtain it by "other means"?

You might try using a different software DVD player, such as WinDVD...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 03:37 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Default

Hi again setarip

1) Have you successfully played ANY burned DVDs with PowerDVD? (Which did you use - burner for playback or another DVD ROM/player?)

No not yet. I hav'nt done any actual copies i.e. ripping and then just burnning. I'v only burned compilations.

2) Have you successfully played ANY commercial DVDs with PowerDVD? (Which did you use - burner for playback or another DVD ROM/player?)

Yes lots of them.

3) Are you using a purchased and/or free trial version of PowereDVD - or did you obtain it by "other means"?

"other means"

Dan Hawkes
dandino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 04:15 AM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
SKD_Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Posts: 1,512
Default

If you obtained it by "other means" the program could be corrupt and may have been tampered with. I suggest you buy the full retail version and give it a try
SKD_Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 04:55 AM   #7
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Although I personally don't condone (to put it mildly) the acquisition of commercial products by "means other than purchasing", it appears that your problem doesn't lay with PowerDVD:

When you add your burning difficulties to your burner's inability to read a DVD that IT has burned (that playback on other players) to the fact that PowerDVD plays commercial DVDs without problems, it would appear that your burner is problematic.

1) If you've just recently purchased it, you might want to consider returning and exchanging it

2) If you can't return/exchange it, you might try running a DVD/CD cleaning disc on it. Maxell makes one that retails for approximately $10US

3) You might experiment with higher quality media. The media you used may be of "borderline" quality (hence the burning difficulty and, perhaps, the inability of the burner to read its "own handiwork")

Last edited by setarip; 24 Aug 2003 at 04:58 AM
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 05:56 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Default

Hello again

Thanks everyone for your help and pointers. I have tried playing my DVDRs in Media Player and Win DVD and they play fine so as you suggested it was a PowerDVD problem - must have obtained a corrupt copy. Thanks again everyone for your help and time.

Kind regards
dandino
dandino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 06:40 AM   #9
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Now that's a surprise - actually, it's more of an incongruity!

How does PowerDVD being corrupt fit together with,

"2) Have you successfully played ANY commercial DVDs with PowerDVD? (Which did you use - burner for playback or another DVD ROM/player?)

Yes lots of them."


??????????????
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 07:11 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Default

Ok setarip. I do opologise, I forgot that I upgraded to version 5 of PowerDVD. It was my earlier version that played lots of commercial titles.

With all the headaches I've been having with my recent authoring problems it just slipped my mind that I'd changed my version. Thanks again anyway - without your feedback I would never have thought to try another dvd player, I was convinced that it was a burner problem or the way I was burning.

Again my sincere opologies
Dan Hawkes
dandino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2003, 07:59 AM   #11
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Ok setarip. I do opologise, I forgot that I upgraded to version 5 of PowerDVD. It was my earlier version that played lots of commercial titles."

Apology accepted - More importantly, you've reconfirmed for me that "I'm not losing it" - at least as far as this thread is concerned ;>}

(Now start BUYING your software - so we'll have nothing to talk about ;>})
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2003, 09:53 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Exclamation-2

I had the same problem:
PowerDVD4 locks when I try to play Nero burned DVD-Video.
I made some tests and I *definitely* blame Nero (or burner's firmware)
I received PowerDVD with my DVD drive long time ago and played plenty of DVDs without any problem - so I'm shure PowerDVD is OK.

Why I think it's Nero:
1) The same compilation burned with other program (Elby CloneDVD) works fine.
2) The same compilation burned (for a test) *in Nero* as a data - DVD-ROM (ISO) with manually created VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS plays fine in PowerDVD, WindDVD and even standalone DVD player.

It seems that Nero (maybe only with some DVD-recorders?!) create DVD-Video disks not fully compliant with DVD standard and some vulnerable players like i.e. PowerDVD can't accept it.

Did anyone created DVD-Video with Teac DV-50D which was playable in PowerDVD?

Regards:
Przemek Mazur
xanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2003, 11:14 AM   #13
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default To xanth

What version of NERO are you using (FULL number please)?
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2003, 05:03 AM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Post

I've tried two versions: 60015 with and without Issue5203 patch and 60019.
All gave the same result with PowerDVD.

I used also different media (TDK DVD-RW, Platinum DVD+RW, X-Disk DVD-R).
xanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2003, 10:22 PM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Talking Nero already OK?

Hello everybody!

It seems, that newest Nero version (6.0.0.23) is free of such bugs. Now it creates DVD-Video fully compliant with standard...
I've checked it on 3 videos - all tests went perfectly OK.
xanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:22 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com