Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10 Jul 2004, 06:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default DVD-Lab Playback Problem

Hello all.

I am having a wierd problem. I am new to authoring but I followed several "how to" guides for dvd-lab. I took a divx and used TMPGEnc and converted them to MPEG2 at 720x480. I encoded 2 videos (one being a divx and one being a straight avi). I used the same settings on both so the output should be the same.

Video1 is a sort of intro to the dvd that plays before the root menu. Video2 is the actual video itself. What is happening is video1 (widescreen) plays perfect for the intro. I then get to the main menu (4:3) and select "Play Video" then it goes to play video2. Immediately after hitting the "play video" button it goes right back to the main menu as if the video doesnt exist or is .5 seconds long. I've checked my routing to make sure the button does link to the video. The routing goes from main menu to video and then back to main menu. I've burnt 6 coasters (need to buy an RW) and they all do the same thing no matter how I configure it. Is it possible that because its going widescreen -> 4:3 -> widescreen that it may be messing up?
vcand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jul 2004, 03:26 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

As an experiment (Use a R/W DVD if possible), using DVDLab make a DVD containing ONLY the second video. If it doesn't play, there's a problem with your conversion of that video...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2004, 02:41 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Ok, I used an RW and still a no go. I reencoded the video and still a no go. SO as an experiement I loaded the video into Ulead and burned and it worked 100%. I am curious if it could be possibly something in how DVD-lab sets up the vob files or something <shrug>
vcand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com