Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27 Sep 2002, 06:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Default DVD-Video & DVD Rom

Can someone please help me. Im using impression to author a DVD video but i want to be able to have PC data on hte same DVD.

DOes anyone have a proper way of doing it so a setop dvd box will play the film as a normal dvd but on a pc you get the film and th data.

Ive tried writing it in Nero and the pc one works but then the Settop box says bad disc.

Is there a tutorial that someone knows or an easy way of doing it.

Thanks
sppmoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Nov 2003, 10:22 AM   #2
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 18
Default

if your using pinical impression you should be able to put your extra data in the extra folder.
dvd set top boxes look for the video ts folder and thats all they see on the disk...
dvd roms are usually on computers with dvd playing softwear. this softwear will look for the video ts folder and play the contents regardless of what else is on the disk. therefore the user if they explor the disk will be able to acess the extra data.
dose this help?
chop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Nov 2003, 01:05 PM   #3
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Ive tried writing it in Nero and the pc one works but then the Settop box says bad disc."

1) Use NERO in "DVD-Video" mode

2) FIRST (It is critical that this be done FIRST), place all DVD-related files (.IFOs, .BUPs, .VOBs) in the RED "VIDEO_TS" folder

3) Then place all PC-only related data in the root directory (or create an "Extras" directory containing these items - and place the "Extras" directory in the root directory)

4) Burn
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Nov 2003, 10:51 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 18
Default

ok hears what Ive done.
I have a 4x bruner. impression dosent brun at 4x it can only brun at 2x. (thats what Ive been told)
so I make my dvd using impression but I brun it using nero.

I havent made any dvds with extras but I will be doing so befor monday so Ill let you how I got on over the weekend.

in nero I set it to dvd and dont bother with the video mode I go to udf mode.
then just put the video_ts folder on the blank dvd.
chop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:33 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com