Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26 Dec 2002, 10:57 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
ilscuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: England
Posts: 23
Default easy way DVD9 - DVD5 exact copy

Ok this is my way of copying exactly dvd9 to dvd5 just done LOTR and Minority report keeping everything.
Start DVDdecryptor and select everything EXCEPT the main movie vobs and make a note of the size then rip the whole movie to hdd then get this program DVD2DVDR which is freeware

hXXp://www.magazinwelt.de/forum/software.html

This is how i did Lord of the rings...

1)Run DVD2DVDR and select just the movie files and all audio.

2) The DVD minus the main movie was 1.8(approx)gig,so I wanted to leave 1.9 gig on the disc for extras, so I put this value in DVD2DVDR in the 'mb reserved' box

3) I ran DVD2DVDR and the proggy ripped the main movie files and encoded to a size of 2.30 gigs

4) I ended up with a new m2v file 6ac3 and 1 Dts files

5) These files were added into Maestro,then compiled

6) Maestro gave me a Video_ts folder with my new vobs, and ifo's etc....

7) rename the vobs in the maestro folder to the name of the main movie vobs in the DVDdecryptor folder

8 ) I then deleted the original movie vobs in the DVDdecryptor folder and copied the renamed vobs from the maestro folder into the DVDdecryptor folder. COPY OVER ONLY THE VOBS NOTHING ELSE!

9)I then selected all the files in the DVDdecryptor folder to see their size, and they came out at 4.2 gigs........PERFECT!!

10) I ran ifoupdate, selected original movie IFO from the folder DVDdecryptor made, and selected the authored IFO from the folder Maestro had made. I clicked 'IFO UPDATE', and then get vts sectors
11) Finished. I now have a VIDEO_TS folder containing all the extras and menus and a main movie which had been encoded to fit with the rest of the DVD structure to get below 4.3 gigs.

12)Burn with your favourite burning program

Wella fully working exact duplicate....(apart from subtitles that is) which ime working on
__________________
you reap what you sew
ilscuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Dec 2002, 10:04 PM   #2
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Is there another program you can use instead of Meastro??
caseball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Dec 2002, 11:25 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
ilscuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: England
Posts: 23
Default

Yes as long as it accepts ac3 and dts files.. Spruceup doesnt accept dts
ilscuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Dec 2002, 01:47 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Such as?????
caseball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Dec 2002, 08:15 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
ilscuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: England
Posts: 23
Default

SPRUCEUP!!!
ilscuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Dec 2002, 08:43 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Spruce Up is a demo and yopu can only save two projects so what else can I use??
caseball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Dec 2002, 10:27 AM   #7
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

After being purchased by Apple Inc. Spruceup is no longer available. However, spruce up remains a popular choice for dvd authoring. The doom9.org site reports that "workarounds" to obtain a fully functional version of Spruceup are readily available on the internet.
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Dec 2002, 05:33 PM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Default

Will Sonic My DVD work for reconstructing the VOB?

Could you please provide more detail for how to use the DVD2DVDR program? I have never used it.

Also, only version 1.3.2 worked in download, is that sufficient?
msuc5vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Dec 2002, 06:40 PM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
ilscuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: England
Posts: 23
Default

msuc5vette try again cause 1.3.4 is available for download...
h**p://www.magazinwelt.de/forum/software.html
I think most authoring programs will work but you are going to have to re-encode AC3 to Mp2 or Mpa to get a lot of the programs to recognise it, and if you do Lord of the rings which has 7 audio tracks then thats a lot of encoding/messing about, just get hold of a working Maestro or Spruceup.
Follow this thread for more info h**p://www.vcdhelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=124578&highlight=
ilscuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 05:13 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Default

Is there a way to use the ripped files from DVD-Decripter for the encoding? I have a couple DVDs already on my HD that I want to DVD-R, but don't have the originals with me to rip again.
msuc5vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:09 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
ilscuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: England
Posts: 23
Default

Unfortunately no, or at least ime not sure how to
ilscuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 12:49 PM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 31
Default ok i give

where is dv to dvr program located url.

couldn't find it here.
__________________
Questions: I got a million of em.
bloodywolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 01:06 PM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 31
Default English

I found it but it is in german is there a version in english
bloodywolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jan 2003, 12:22 AM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
ilscuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: England
Posts: 23
Default

hXXp://www.magazinwelt.de/forum/software.html
change the h**p to http
ilscuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Jan 2003, 12:22 AM   #15
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: uk wigan westlancs
Posts: 64
Thumbs up

hi ilscuro
just a couple of things
do u have to use all the audio channels, or can you use just the english 6 ch audio
also i am up to point 10
10) I ran ifoupdate, selected original movie IFO from the folder DVDdecryptor made, and selected the authored IFO from the folder Maestro had made. I clicked 'IFO UPDATE', and then get vts sectors
i am a bit stuck at this point
can you go into a bit more detail on this point
cheers & beers.............. bigsyd
__________________
IT IS BETTER TO BURN OUT THAN FADE AWAY
bigsyd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:48 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com