Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16 May 2003, 03:02 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
Default erase and rewrite on DVD+RW?

I am burning DVDs on a SONY DVD+RW DRU-120A. The media I am using is labeled "DVD+RW". However, when I try to erase or rewrite a disc using either "B's Gold" or "Nero Burn or Express", I get error codes stating that the medium in the drawer is incorrect or not recognized. The discs play OK, but will not re-write or erase.

I'm pretty new to this. Can anyone tell me what I am missing?
ray3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2003, 03:13 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

You didn't, by any chance, FORMAT the R/W DVD so that it can be read from and written to as if it were another drive?
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2003, 03:25 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
Default DVD+RW erase

I didn't intentionally format my DVDs as you describe. Some of them are Video DVDs, others are data discs.

Is there a place where I may check whether or not I inadvertently formatted the DVDs in an incompatible manner?
ray3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2003, 04:46 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"whether or not I inadvertently formatted the DVDs in an incompatible manner?"

It would be virtually impossible to other-than-intentionally format a DVD R/W...


I'd suggest you put an UNUSED one into your burner and from within NERO select "Media Information", to determine if it is truly a R/W (or examine it under DVDDecrypter)...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2003, 05:14 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
Default DVD+RW

In "disc info", it says that my media are DVD+R. On the disc itself, it first says "RW", followed by "DVD+R". So, I guess it is record only.

Now my question is, why does it call itself "RW" in the first place?
ray3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2003, 10:57 AM   #6
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Now my question is, why does it call itself "RW" in the first place?"

You'd have to ask the folks from whom you purchased them...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com