Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 6 Aug 2003, 12:07 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2
Default File size limits for DVD-R

Hi,

Not sure if this is the right place for this question, but I'm struggling to find the answer.

Is there a maximum size limit for a single file written to DVD-R?
I am trying to burn a single file of 4.3G onto a disc, and the authoring software (Prassi Primo DVD) says 4G is the limit.

Is this a software limitation, or is there a maximum file size for DVD-R?

Hope someone can help!

Scott Morrison.
sjmorrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2003, 01:01 AM   #2
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 6
Default

In my unprofessional opinion, yes it's a software limitation.
I burned a movie a few minutes ago with Nero and the file was 4.25 gigs.

Hope that helps Scott.
mdtplus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2003, 01:10 AM   #3
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,000
Default

normally approx 4.376 (4.3 GB) megabyte is the normal capacity of an average DVD recordable disc
but there are also dvd recordables out there that can only hold
3.9 gigabyte.

which dvd-r do you use?

sorry that I cannot help you with the software you use.
I have never tried it.

next time you ask it would also be a good thing to know a little of your system ( like the OS )

because 4 gb is some sort of an important filsize limit.
shiny#3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2003, 01:15 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the replies so far, and sorry about the lack of info!

OS is Windows 2000 SP1, the DVD-R is a Standard 4.7 G blank.

We can write up to the capacity of the blank when copying multiple files, but when we try and record a single file of over 4G Prassi complains that it can't do so.

Sorry to have been so vague in the first place.

Thanks

Scott.
sjmorrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2003, 01:28 AM   #5
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,000
Default

so I guess
your windows 2000 is installed on a fat32 partition.

you could set it up on an ntfs partition but this implies reformatting
to make this 4gb limitation go away
or upgrade to XP to handle single files with filsizes bigger than
4.0 gigabyte
shiny#3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2003, 02:50 AM   #6
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Oriphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In a Galaxy, Far far away
Posts: 405
Default

You should get 4,470MB on to the disc ok using Record now Deluxe:

http://www.chrismccann.co.uk/recordnowmax.htm
__________________
http://www.dvd-backup.tk
Oriphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Aug 2003, 06:19 AM   #7
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,000
Default

you should also use good DVD recordables

since having tested aplenty of brands now
I will stick to RITEK DVD Rs that have reliable dye
to almost its edge.
it still depends on your DVD writer drive.
maybe another poster has another suggestion
on which brand to use with your writer


good luck
shiny#3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Aug 2003, 07:33 AM   #8
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Oriphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In a Galaxy, Far far away
Posts: 405
Default

I completely agree, Ritek G04's have served me without fail for a long time now. No intention of changing back. I was even thinking of getting the best Riteks, Traxdata G04's, but they are 15p extra per DVD. might be worth it. Anyone know what colour the top surface is?
Oriphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Aug 2003, 05:19 PM   #9
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 64
Default

Cant afford buying Ritek media, so i stick with very low quality Princo 1X or 4X media purple dye.
Lucky i havent got a bad batch so far.
Here in montreal, they stopped pushin Ritek because they got a very bad batch of Riteks.
jazzjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2003, 02:14 AM   #10
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Oriphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In a Galaxy, Far far away
Posts: 405
Default

With Ritek try and get H4 and H6 batches, they should be good.
Oriphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com