Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 8 Nov 2011, 12:05 AM   #1
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default "Ghost" menu

Selecting the (Language) button in a video’s Main menu, fails to bring up the language menu. Instead, the main menu remains visible, but supplemented by “ghosts” of the language menu buttons. Clicking on any of the latter results in the expected action. Selecting the language button of the main menu in PgcEdit brings up the following message in the Trace log window:
“No time left to select button! (Blanked menu)”
I would be grateful for help on how this can be fixed.
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Nov 2011, 12:16 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

Seems the language menu is a still frame. Perhaps the still time has been lost. If it's the case, it's easy to fix: double-click on the menu PGC, and in the PGC Editor, change the cell still time of the menu cell (in the cells list) to 255 (infinite). Test carefully.

If that doesn't work, select the menu PGC in the left pane, and call Info -> PGC. Post the content of the dialog here. I'll try to understand the problem...
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
Unofficial mirror (in Poland)
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Nov 2011, 08:09 AM   #3
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

Many thanks for your help. The cell still time was at 255. Herewith is the content of Info -> PGC:

VTSM 2 , LU 1 (es) , 16 (0:00) 4b. - Chapters: n/a, Programs: 1, Cells: 1

********** pre commands:
********** post commands:
1 Set gprm(2) =(mov) sprm(1:Audio stream number)
2 Set gprm(3) =(mov) sprm(2:Sub-picture stream number)
3 LinkPGCN PGC 16
********** cell commands:

********** menu buttons commands:
VOB ID 6, Cell ID 1 (First NAV pack LBA=172)
1 Group, Select button=0, Action button=0, 4 numerically selectable buttons.
1: (SetSTN) Set Audio stream = 0 ; Set Sub-picture stream = 0, on ; LinkTailPGC, button 3 (3072)
2: Set gprm(1) =(mov) 55 ; LinkPGCN PGC 17
3: Set gprm(1) =(mov) 60 ; LinkPGCN PGC 17
4: LinkPGCN PGC 33


Playback time: 00:00:00.12 (at 25 fps)
PG Playback mode: sequential
PUOs: 0 (0x00000000)
NextPGCN: 0
PrevPGCN: 0
GoUpPGCN: 0
PGC Still Time: 0
Subpic stream 1 status: 0x80000000 (streams for 4:3=0, wide=0, letterbox=0, pan&scan=0)

But- Prog. Cell Type Seam- Ang VOBU Cell Cell Playback End Entry First Last Last VOB Cell
tons Flags less Still Still Cmd. Time Time VOBU ILVU VOBU VOBU ID ID
Joint Time # sector End Start End

4 1 1 2 no - no 255 0 00:00:00.12 00:00:00.12 172 0 172 196 6 1
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Nov 2011, 08:50 PM   #4
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

Hum, if the still time was already present, then the PgcEdit trace should not issue the Cell Blanked warning. So, I guess the problem is related to bad VOBU pointers in the cells table. It's not easy to fix, as the VOB file must be examined with VobEdit and if the cell exists, its pointers must be replaced in the IFOs with IfoEdit.

Can you see the menu background in the menu VOB? (You can use Preview -> Preview full domain VOB to display the whole content of the menu VOB in the preview. But you will have to look carefully. It is not always easy to locate a single frame in a menu VOB containing animated cells. According to the VOBU pointers, the audio menu cell should be near the beginning of the file.)

You can also try to FixVTS the menu VOB, but me sure to make a backup first, as FixVTS may completely remove the menu cell from the VOB is it is not correctly referenced.
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Nov 2011, 07:05 AM   #5
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

Many thanks for your reply.

>Can you see the menu background in the menu VOB? <
Yes. Checking out all menus (Main, Language, Chapters and Extras) with Preview -> Preview full domain VOB(s), shows images of not only the menu concerned, but also of all menus. I assume this is OK since I am viewing the full domain.

I tried FixVTS, but this didn’t help.

Unfortunately, I’m not very familiar with VobEdit, so I don’t believe much can be done.
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing "SEARCH" option in Start Menu GR7 General Computing 14 23 Mar 2009 05:48 AM
Edit menu to start as "menu", not "chapters" Solomon_Broad DVD Authoring and Editing 3 27 Mar 2007 09:01 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:29 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com