Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27 Jul 2003, 04:29 AM   #1
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 116
Default how do i author a dvd from a .m2v and .ac3?

ive got all the usual programs. i just cant seem to find one that will take the tmpgenc encoded .m2v file and the .ac3 file and create a dvd from them. i thought i could use ifoedit but that just creates a silent film. any ideas?
__________________
Intel Quad Q6600@3000
water cooled
2gb ram
160gb 2xseagate sata raid 0
gforce 8800GTS 512mb
cypher007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2003, 06:42 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"TMPGEnc DVD Author" (different than "TMPGEnc") will gladly accept those files. If you give them the same name (e.g "MOVIE.m2v" and "MOVIE.ac3"), TMPGEnc DVD Author will automatically load the audio file when you enter the video file - otherwise, load the audio file manually...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2003, 07:22 AM   #3
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 116
Default just tried it, no go

tmpgenc dvd author says the ac3 i stripped (using virtualdubmod streams) from the divx3 avi, says its invalid. yet it will play fine as a standalone .ac3 file through my xcard to my digital amp. the amp even recognises it as a dolby digital stream.
cypher007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2003, 07:45 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"i just cant seem to find one that will take the tmpgenc encoded .m2v file and the .ac3 file and create a dvd from them."

Based on your statement, I thought you have extracted both an .M2V audiostream and an .AC3 audiostream from a DVD.




"tmpgenc dvd author says the ac3 i stripped (using virtualdubmod streams) from the divx3 avi, says its invalid."


It's probably lacking some header information that the program requires in order to recognize it. You might be able to adjust the file using BeSweet (I've not personally used this program)...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2003, 06:47 PM   #5
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 116
Default besweet and tmpgenc dvd problems

ok tried to convert the .ac3 .ac3 using besweet gui, it created a dolby pro-logic track arrrgh!!!. anyway tried using this in tmpgenc dvd author and it liked it. but my question is this is there no way of going .ac3 to .ac3 full 5 channel in besweet gui? and is there any dvd authoring software which supports more than 2 channels?
cypher007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2003, 12:27 AM   #6
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"is there any dvd authoring software which supports more than 2 channels?"

Most authoring software, INCLUDING TMPGEnc DVD Author, supports more than two channels. As I said before, it seems that your SPECIFIC .AC3 source is problematic...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2003, 01:20 AM   #7
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 116
Default ok ive tried sonic foundry as well

it seems any .avi file that has a dolby digital audio track cannot be converted to a dvd. if i strip the stream to a .ac3 i can play it and it sounds great but then i cant find any software which will mux it without messing it up or silencing it. sonic foundry says it cant figure out what audio stream it is when i try and convert it from .avi to dvd, and this is more than one film im talking about.
cypher007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2003, 01:37 AM   #8
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

I guess that's one of the many problems you can run into when you're dealing with somebody else's work, rather than videos that you've created...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2003, 03:57 AM   #9
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 116
Default could this be the problem?

ive got an ac3 filter codec which installed when i put the tsunami codec pack on. should i remove this when muxing ac3 sources?
cypher007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2003, 04:29 AM   #10
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"ive got an ac3 filter codec which installed when i put the tsunami codec pack on. should i remove this when muxing ac3 sources?"

Naah...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Aug 2003, 07:48 AM   #11
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

Quote:
i thought i could use ifoedit but that just creates a silent film. any ideas?
=>> corrupt data or hitting the wrong buttons (which seems hardly possible in ifoedit when loading m2v + ac3)
__________________
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:38 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com