Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12 Feb 2003, 06:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Default Menu's with IfoEdit

Hi,
When using IfoEdit, does anyone know where the menu's commands are? Using Vobrator I have extracted extra's from Star Wars P.M. menu. The menu, instead of 800mb is now 300mb. But when the menu now plays, the main screws around until it goes to the chapter listing then I can play it from there. I'm asuming because I disturbed the order of the VOB's withing the Menu's VOB, the menu is now pointing incorrectly. If someone could tell me how to point correctly, I will be done, but I haven't seen any info on modifying orginal menu's in the way I have described.
HELP!!!!!!
Thank-you
dvdmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Feb 2003, 12:51 PM   #2
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 60
Default

Removing the extras and then correcting the original menus is possible, but quite hard since you need to correct little things all over the place.

When you open the original unchanged VTS_01_0.IFO from the DVD, and scroll to near the bottom you will see a listing of menus with the number of programs and cells they contain and the VOB-IDs they use.

When you remove extras some VOB-IDs are removed and this removes some of the programs that are in those VOBs. Any menu that trys to play one of those removed programs will have a problem. Also, removing one program from a menu but leaving the rest, renumbers the program IDs for that menu. but they are still referenced by their old program numbers causing more errors.

There is a command table in each menu under VTSM_PGCI_UT->PGC_MENU_# and these commands are executed before and/or after each menu is displayed (depending on whether they are pre or post commands). There is also one command attached to each menu button in the menu VOB. There are also commands associated with each VTS_PGCITI->VTS_PGC_# executed either before or after each section of video. Finally there is a set of commands associated with the First Play located in the VIDEO_TS.IFO file.

To fully correct your menus you need to follow these commands and figure out where they are going wrong and correct them. If you are used to reading, writing, and debugging software this can be easy. Otherwise it can also be quite hard.

You can do lots of cool things if you make the effort to learn this method, but it is an effort and does take time.

Good luck.
ebina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Feb 2003, 01:22 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Default Idea

Thank-you Ebina.
That was the info I needed, but I figured out another way using the info you gave me, for the menu commands and using VOBTOOL. I realised my problem would probably happen before I attempted it, but I needed the extra info to finish my idea.
First, using Vobtool extract all the VOB's within the menu VOB.
Second, figure out, by playing the dvd, what menu I wanted to always see in Star Wars P.H.
Third, play each VOB to find out which Vob's I don't need such as menus, chapters, and options, while writting down the vob I will delete. (eg VOB Segment # 2) etc
Forth, create blank text files and rename them in dos as *.vob to replace the VOB's I will delete using Vobtool.

The last thing I have to do is put them in the same order as the orginal and it should work because the order has remanied the same. My only problem is to find a software that will allow me to add vobs in the order I need.
Does anyone know what software that is out there I can use to solve my problem.
Basically the opposite of Vobtool or Vobtool with an add feature?
Thank-you
dvdmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2003, 11:14 AM   #4
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 60
Default

VobEdit will let you join a bunch of individual VOBs, but it renumbers the VOB IDs. If you already have one VOB ID per file then it might work for you.
ebina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Feb 2003, 04:57 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Default Oh Well

Hi Ebina,
Well I tried it my way first. Renaming txt to vob didn't work. Then I thought, just use one of the smaller vob's within the menu and renumber them, and re-insert them into the vob, but that didn't work. What did work though was with the original vob intact I was able to use one of your sugestions and stop play back of certain vobs so only one menu would always play but as soon as I replace them it screws up and the main menu doesn't work and eventually I can start the movie from the chapters area. You wouldn't have a small document that could get me going a little faster do you? I understand what you are saying above but I'm kind of pressed for time.

Thank-you Ebina
dvdmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Feb 2003, 03:32 AM   #6
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 60
Default

I'm sorry. No one wishes it was fast and easy more than me, but it isn't. To top it off I'm a TERRIBLE teacher/explainer. Without having tried to modify the menus of your movie exactly like you are, I don't know what specific help I can give as every DVD's menuing commands seem to be different. I'm afraid I don't have a document that explains it. The best explanation I can give was already in my first reply.

I guess I can't be much more help to you than to tell you, "yes, it can be done." and let's hope someone who is a better explainer than I teaches themselves how to do it and then explains it here.
ebina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Feb 2003, 07:19 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Default Hi Ebina

I was pressed for time, because I was going on vacation, but I'm back now and can take my time.
If I was to capture a few screens and post them, do you think you could point me in the right direction. From what you posted above I figured out how to stop playback and make the menu play what I want, but if I deleted some of the unwanted vob's or renamed small vob's the menu play back would screw up.
Any help is really appreciated.
Thank-you
dvdmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Mar 2003, 06:23 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Default Thanx

Figured it out by myself!
dvdmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:08 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com