Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 4 Aug 2003, 12:12 PM   #1
Video Fiddler
 
megamachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Region Free
Posts: 681
Default Menus Unstable After Authoring With DVDlab

After authoring with DVDlab and playing in PowerDVD, some of my menus, maybe 10% of them, become unstable. Parts of the unstable menus, sometimes up to 1/3 of the screen, flicker or bounce back and forth between parts of other menus. After re-authoring or re-loading, it is usually the same menus exhibiting the problem, but not always, and the amount of instability changes each time I open the menu. A low resolution screen shot is attached that gives a sense of what I mean. You will see at the bottom pieces of two other menus. When the DVD is playing, they alternate and flicker, but when I hit pause they stand still, as in the screen shot. Has anyone seen this problem before? Any advice on how to fix it or avoid it would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Menus Unstable After Authoring-menuflicker.jpg  

Last edited by megamachine; 4 Aug 2003 at 02:06 PM
megamachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2003, 02:52 AM   #2
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Oriphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In a Galaxy, Far far away
Posts: 405
Default

Try using TMPGEnc DVD Author to create your menus:

http://www.chrismccann.co.uk/recordnowmax.htm
__________________
http://www.dvd-backup.tk
Oriphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2003, 02:39 PM   #3
Video Fiddler
 
megamachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Region Free
Posts: 681
Default

Thanks, I have used TMPGEnc DVD Author for other projects, but I find the design and layout options to be too limited for my needs, and so I prefer the flexibility of DVDlab. I was just wondering if anyone else had this problem before, with DVDlab or any other authoring program. It`s kind of strange, since the instability is not consistent, and in fact sometimes the menus work fine with no problems, while other times the area of the flickering is much less than in the screen shot I attached to the original message. Anyway, thanks for reading this and I hope for some other advice.
megamachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2003, 03:39 PM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

1) Does this "flickering" effect manifest itself if you play the burned DVD on a standalone DVD?

2) Does this "flickering" effect manifest itself during the playback of the movie as well?

3) Have you tried using a different software DVD player?
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Aug 2003, 02:17 PM   #5
Video Fiddler
 
megamachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Region Free
Posts: 681
Default

Thanks for replying.


1) Does this "flickering" effect manifest itself if you play the burned DVD on a standalone DVD?

I have not tried this yet, but will report when I have a chance.


2) Does this "flickering" effect manifest itself during the playback of the movie as well?

No, only on certain still menus and not always in the same way.


3) Have you tried using a different software DVD player?

Yes, and instead of flickering there is a green area in the menu.


With best wishes.
megamachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Aug 2003, 03:48 PM   #6
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Now that you've described it further, this is almost certainly a bug in the DVDLab menu process (or, an EXTREMELY remote possibility, your videocard having aproblem handling still frames of exceedingly bright colors).

Why don't you send "Oscar" (the author/publisher) an email describing the problem? - particularly referencing those menu groups that exhibit this behaviour.
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Aug 2003, 01:44 PM   #7
Video Fiddler
 
megamachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Region Free
Posts: 681
Default

Thanks Setarip, it probably is a bug, since I never had this sort of problem with any other projects. I`ll send a message to Oscar.
megamachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Aug 2003, 04:12 PM   #8
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Thanks Setarip"

My pleasure ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:04 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com