Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31 Oct 2004, 06:37 AM   #1

Question Need to make a video? On a DVD? (I'm a newbie)

Hi. I'm new to the DVD environment and have never done anything like this. I have several home made movies that are in avi format and would like to play them on the TV through a DVD player. I dont know what do. The movies will not fit on regular CD's so VCDs wont be helpful.
Thx
DBZMBrolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2004, 08:07 AM   #2
Retired

Does your system include a DVD burner?
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Nov 2004, 10:10 AM   #3

um.. no but I use one that is on a network in my house. Which is as equally good as if I had it on my computer.
Old 3 Nov 2004, 10:20 AM   #4
Retired

One set of procedures (other posters may/probably will suggest alternative methods) would be:

1) Use "TMPGEnc" (or "TMPGEncPlus") to convert the .AVI (DivX-compressed or otherwise) to compliant MPEG2-for-DVD format - Use "TMPGEnc's" DVD wizard/template to accomplish this

2) Use "TMPGEnc DVD Author" (a different program than "TMPGEnc") to easily create the required additional DVD files and structure (and chapters and a menu, if you wish)

**If the combined filesize of the DVD "package" written to your hard drive is greater than 4.37Gb, use DVD Shrink (or similar) to compress

If your O/S is either Win2000 or WinXP, TMPGEnc DVD Author can also burn your DVD. Otherwise, use NERO to burn in "DVD-Video" mode
(As an alternative to "TMPGEnc DVD Author", you could use "DVDLab")

Let us know of your success ;>}
Old 6 Nov 2004, 03:38 PM   #5