Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11 Feb 2004, 12:43 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Default please help me

can anyone tell me what is wrong? I have been copying my dvd's with no problem. But last night, when i try to drag main part of movie to capture it under dvd structure, I get error saying qdvd.dll (which suggests to restart if continue to have problems) but I can't figure it out. restarting doesn't help. I've even uninstalled and reinstalled dvd shrink 3.1.4. PLEASE HELP ME
I've trying looking through forum but don't see anything to help.
mshotrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2004, 02:17 AM   #2
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default

"But last night, when i try to drag main part of movie to capture it under dvd structure, I get error saying qdvd.dll (which suggests to restart if continue to have problems) but I can't figure it out."

It would be helpful if you could give us some more details. What type of computer do you have–how powerful and how much RAM? What is your operating system? Did you have any other programs running when you installed Shrink, or did you install a subsequent program or driver after you installed Shrink?
ormonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2004, 03:44 AM   #3
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,279
Default

sounds like an un-installed software deleted a dll, but, what happens when you drag smaller clips to dvd structure section of re-author?
__________________
Rig :

P - 4 @ 1.7 Ghz, 768 mb (133) Ram, Intel 845 chipset M'board, Seagate 60 Gig., 5400 rpsm hdd, Maxtor 40 Gig. 7200 rpm hdd, Hauppauge 880 pvr card, etc.. O.S. - XP Home Edition.
Quality's Proof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2004, 05:30 AM   #4
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
tigerman8u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,123
Default

Most versions of Dvdshrink are an executable file only and don't do a full install. You should have a copy of qdvd.dll in your "system32" directory, ie c:\winit\system32 for win2k or depending on the version of windows you are running. The file also has to be registered again depending on your OS c:\winint\regesteredpackages\followed by a series of letters and numbers. Do a search and see if the location and registration come up on your computer.
tigerman8u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2004, 05:45 AM   #5
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,329
Default

Of course...you could always do a "system restore" to a time when everything was working... but that wouldn't be intellectually challenging or fun.
rsquirell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2004, 07:39 AM   #6
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,279
Default

requirell.

Here I was beginning to like your posts and then you said that solving a computer software problem is intellectually challenging........it's all librarian work, don't you get it, the dll's been checked out, defaced, placed in the wrong section, etc,.....long live dewey!

mshotrod, really we'll try to help you and we actually do solve a lot of problems....for the better.

P.S. Bill Gates has quite a late fees due bill against him!
Quality's Proof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2004, 07:49 AM   #7
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,329
Default

LOL...don't you just love simplicity.
rsquirell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2004, 03:15 PM   #8
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
tigerman8u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,123
Default

mshotrod could you state what OS you're using and any burning or video software you have and especially and software you might have installed or uninstalled prior to this happening. Hopefully we can help you.
ps. in the corp we have a saying " it's not how many rounds you fire but how many hits you have that count".
tigerman8u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Feb 2004, 11:05 AM   #9
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,279
Default

When you have an inexhaustible amount of nukes, you don't have to be concerned by anything but closeness.......I usually target pressure points.

But, I was Expert Marksman before attaining my 'teen years and was drilled at the manual of arms with a 6' piece (1890 Swiss issue .41 rim-fire caliber bolt action, tubular magazine).
Quality's Proof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Feb 2004, 03:53 AM   #10
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,329
Default

Well...I know you don't have to be overly accurate with nukes...but it would be nice to drop them a little farther away from the office.
Attached Thumbnails
please help me-bomb-oops-1.jpg  
rsquirell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Feb 2004, 10:08 PM   #11
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,279
Default

Look at the thread "Help w/Nero Write Speed by stellarcouple, and you will understand about the "pressure points", better by reading some other posts I made about spyware on people's systems and how windows re-install (and no further downloads of spyware) solved dvd back-up problems.
Quality's Proof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2004, 02:22 AM   #12
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,329
Default

Whoa...that was a verrrry interesting thread. I have Internet Cleanup which regularly tells me I have picked up doubleclick spyware every time I do a Washington Post or Baltimore Sun crossword puzzle. I wonder if there is some reliable freeware out there that can detect all types of spyware that Internet Cleanup might have missed...
rsquirell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2004, 02:38 AM   #13
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default

I've used SpyBot with good results. Now it seems that every time I go online it finds some sort of spyware.
ormonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2004, 05:17 AM   #14
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,329
Default

SpyBot's been out there for a while...I had it on my old Win95. Surely spyware has improved over the years. I was thinking that, perhaps, MPAA (or the government) might have developed stuff that would defeat it by now.
rsquirell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2004, 05:24 AM   #15
Digital Video Explorer
 
ormonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,735
Default

"SpyBot's been out there for a while"

That is true, but I haven’t checked to see if it has been upgraded. There are probably better or more sophisticated utilities you can get now, but it has been pretty reliable on locating the popular spyware. (doubleclick, gator, downloadware etc....)
ormonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 05:10 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com