Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 6 Jan 2003, 09:50 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Default primo dvd with a sony dru-500a (help)

I recently purchased the sony dru-500A. I am pretty pleased but can not get it to show up as a compatible drive in primo dvd software. i was wandering if anyone is familiar with this software or if there would be a reason why it would not see the drive. thank you for the help. PS. this is a cool forum.
mikegett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Jan 2003, 11:51 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

If you had the software installed on your system before getting the burner, try uninstalling the software, rebooting (cold), reinstalling the software, and rebooting.

Let us know of your success ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Jan 2003, 01:15 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Default thanks but no luck

I tried what suggested but it just won't see the drive. I am pretty unfamiliar with the primo. It refers to all my other drives as scsi. They are internal ide drives so why would they be showing up as a scsi interface? Is there a difference between the two? Thanks for the reply.
mikegett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Jan 2003, 01:27 PM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

is your Sony an internal drive or an external firewire drive?
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Jan 2003, 01:41 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Default

It is a internal ide drive.
mikegett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Jan 2003, 02:48 AM   #6
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 60
Default

PrimoDVD will not recognize the Sony because the Sony is too new.

PrimoDVD was sold and is now called RecordNow Max. I got a demo version of it with my Sony. It also doesn't recognize the Sony. I e-mailed the company (storesales@stompinc.com) to ask how to get it to recognize my Sony, this is what they replied on 10/23/2002:

"We will be rolling out a new version of RecordNow Max version 4.5 that will offer support for that Sony drive. The new version will be available in about a month."

Checking their website (http://www.stompinc.com/recordnowmax/index.phtml?stp) I see that 4.5 is now out. They list the Sony as a supported drive. I suggest you try their free 30 day trial first. The web page claims you can upgrade from PrimoDVD 2.0 for $24 ($34 if you want them to mail you a CD).

Personally, I returned the Sony drive and bought a Pioneer. Good luck.
ebina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Jan 2003, 09:12 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Default thanks for the help!

I appreciate the help. I will try the software in a few days.
mikegett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:03 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com