Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29 Dec 2002, 10:01 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default Serious issues with TMPGEnc

Hi people,

i copied a lot of DVD-5 and DVD-9 movies without problems. So far i was lucky and the DVD-9 movies fitted perfectly on my DVD-R Discs after removing the extras. Now i came across to some movies that are bigger then the DVD-R Discs i have. Even "Kiss Of The Dragon" a 94 minute movie needs more space.

I now have the .m2v and the .ac3 file on my disk. I need to reencode
the m2v to lower quality, and i want to use TMPGEnc for that task.
I reencoded with rempeg my last movie but Spruceup had some audio sync
problems. I dunno why plus i heard TMPGEnc was better for that job.

The problem with TMPGEnc i have is, that it doesnt recognize all the frames the movie has. Therefore it doesnt encode the whole movie.
Since i have a lot of codecs installed i thought about deinstalling
most of them and deinstalled the nimo codec pack. After doing that,
TMPGEnc wouldnt recognize m2v files. It said, it doesnt support them
for any reason. Even tho Power DVD is still installed on my system, i thought it used the codec of Power DVD. I reinstalled both TMPGEnc and Power DVD but no help. I even downloaded the m2v.vfp and placed into my
TMPGEnc directory but TMPGEnc freezed whenever i wanted to open the m2v.
I reinstalled the nimo codec pack again but same problem. I wouldnt recognize the whole movie. heh What should i do know, does anybody have
a clue?
BlueEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 10:54 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

If you're using a free version of TMPGEnc, is it possible that the 30 day limit on MPEG2 capability has expired?
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 10:57 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default

no i dont use the free version
BlueEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 11:00 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Uninstall and reinstall TMPGEnc...


(There's no reason TMPGEnc shouldn't "recognize all of the frames")
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 11:04 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default

i did as stated on my first post a few times. i know there should be no reason but it still dont work for me.
BlueEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 11:09 AM   #6
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"I reinstalled both TMPGEnc and Power DVD but no help." (Once...)

At the risk of upsetting you - Did you UNINSTALL TMPGEnc before reinstalling it? if you did, and you've purchased TMPGEnc, I'd suggest that you drop an email to the publisher's site seeking a resolution to your problem...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 11:17 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default

u can only reinstall TMPGEnc if you uninstall first. so yes, i uninstalled first. but i think the problem will get solved if i find a proper m2v codec. after i uninstalled the nimo codec pack my TMPGEnc lost the ability to even support m2v files. and before u ask the m2v.vfp file placed into my TMPGEnc directory only made my TMPGEnc to freeze right after opening the m2v file. i could get the ability back by reinstalling the nimo codec pack but there should be a way around that. maybe the codec provided in this packet causes the problem... by the way, i have power dvd installed i dunno why it doesnt recognize it (yea i reinstalled it!)
BlueEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 01:24 PM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Default

I'm having the same problem with TMPGEnc. I'm using the newest version (2.59) and when I try to re-encode an .m2v file to shrink down the bitrate it doesn't encode the whole movie.

I've noticed something strange, when I de-mux the .vob files on the DVD to .m2v the .m2v file will show up as a different length than it really is. For example, since I've encountered this problem I've been working with a short 4 min. 26 sec. clip to try and figure out how to fix the problem(since I don't wanna waste time encoding an entire movie). When I play the .m2v file in WMP or in TMPGEnc itself it shows that it's 2 min. 21 sec. but the entire clip is there, once it hits the 2 min 21 sec mark the cursor stops but the clip keeps playing.

What I've noticed is that when TMPGEnc is encoding the clip it stops at the 2 min. 21 sec. mark (the mark that it believes is the end of the clip) and thus it stops encoding before it reaches the actual end of the clip.

I used Re-MPEG to encode the clip and everything worked fine, the only problem is that it took forever to finish, even with such a small clip.

Someone suggested that TMPGEnc doesn't work well when encoding from m2v-to-m2v, that it would work better if I converted the m2v-to-avi and then converted the avi-to-m2v. I really don't feel like taking this extra step. If anyone can help out with this problem it would be greatly appreciated.
4G63Rydah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 01:40 PM   #9
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

You both might want to try uninstalling your (presumably) purchased versions and then installing an earlier (such as v.2.50) free version, including the required VFAPI plugin...



(If your present commercial version is a warez crack, that may very well be the cause of your problem)
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2002, 11:18 PM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Default

i tried an "uncracked" free version and it has the same problem. a older version might be the solution, i will try to find an older version..
BlueEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Jan 2003, 07:16 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Default

I figured out what the problem is (at least what it was for me). On the website (which is as easy to understand as the "All Your Base Are Belong to Us" game) it makes you believe that the newest version comes with the VFAPI plug-in installed. I installed the VFAPI plug-in anyways and now it recognizes ALL of the frames and converts the whole movie.

BTW, I am using the free version.
4G63Rydah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 12:41 PM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 6
Default

I use the following for NTSC DVD’s:

1. Rip the movie stream onto the HD.
I use SmartRipper 2.41. Do not demux but pay attention to which track files you want to keep.

2. Use DVD2AVI version 1.77.3 to demux the audio files and create a .d2v Project File.
Be sure and read the .txt file concerning [Forced Film], [TV Scale] and [Pre-Scale Decision] when decoding Dolby Digital. Also, make sure TMPG PLUS picks up the new version of VFAPI plug-in after you install DVD2AVI. You may need to reboot but make sure.

3. Use the TMPG PLUS Wizard for version 2.59 and load the .d2v project file.
The new project wizard will import the d2v project file and gray-out most of your options, which is fine. I did not make any changes and went with the default values with the exception of adjusting the source type, using a 2-pass VBR and creating separate m2v and mp2 files, which I later deleted the mp2. I would advise using “DVD Encoding in TMPG” as a guide. Also, I did NOT use a TMPG Project File.

4. Encode the movie, which took me about 12 hours.

5. Author the DVD by using “DVD Authoring in IfoEdit”, which is found on Doom9.org site. I used the latest version of IfoEdit .95 and did everything exactly as was written.

6. When all was finished, I did a GET VTS SECTORS and saved the files.

7. Burn the DVD.
I use RecordNow Max version 4.5.

I have successfully made Karaoke DVD’s and the latest StarwarsII using this method and I honestly can’t see or hear the difference between the original and the DVD’s I have made.
Everything worked fine and they played great on my standalone DVD player except I still don’t know how to save the original menu file…I’m too cheap to buy CCE. Any advice in this area would be much appreciated.

mrmike
mrmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 03:05 PM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Default

4G63Rydah,

What are the settings for the VFAPI plug-in...I'm having the same problem with the missing frames.
Broski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 03:50 PM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 6
Default

To my knowledge there are no settings for VFAPI. In the program DVD2AVI it's checked on in the {Help} section. In the program TMPG, it should be shown in the {options}/ [Environmental section]. There it should also show the version number.
mrmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 11:31 PM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Default

The plugin I was refering to is the "m2v.vfp"...which includes a configuration app. with various settings.

One thing I don't understand...is why the SSE2 check box is grayed out when I have a P4 2.4G CPU ?
Broski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:55 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com