Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17 Mar 2004, 08:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
IncognitoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In The Sticks, NTSC
Posts: 13
Question VHS Capture Problem

First of all - Hello!
Newbie to this forum here. I have an issue that I cannot resolve concerning video capture. I am experienced in using various programs like dvd2svcd, dvdshrink and many others, and I am trying to capture my old home videos to DVD. I know how to do it, but my final result is always the same. My video and audio both skip at the same time every 8 seconds throughout the entire playback from DVD. I have tried different VHS tapes, VCRs, and software, but it always comes out the same. I have roxio which came with my burner, yeah...I know how most feel about Roxio, but I am still in the learning process when it comes to capture, so I thought I would start with it. I believe I have an adequate system to do this, so what is my problem...eveything in my captures and end result is flawless except for this skipping? My specs are below, I am using composite to s-video for video to my capture card of course, and RCA into my onboard sound card, I am going for DVD format 720x480, NTSC, mpeg 2, pcm audio 48khz...Any help would be appreiated.

P.S.-Great forum! Glad to be here!
IncognitoDVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2004, 09:24 PM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: salisbury, UK
Posts: 2,399
Default

I went to look up the specs of your tv card and found someone else with a very similar problem? http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/topic/20785/
__________________
This isn't a learning curve ... this is b****y mountaineering!
sfheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2004, 09:40 PM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: salisbury, UK
Posts: 2,399
Default

Sorry, got called away so posted quick note.
Despite finding a pdf about your card I still can't suss whether it encodes through hardware or software. I think most folk capture uncompressed as this part of the process is time-critical working to the speed of your VCR. Encoding to mpeg2 later is better.

Maybe I'm jumping the gun - are you capturing straight to mpeg2?

Not sure if/where on XP the option for DMA to the hard drives is but that's always worth checking it's on.
sfheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2004, 04:34 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default To IncognitoDVD

"I know how to do it, but my final result is always the same. My video and audio both skip at the same time every 8 seconds throughout the entire playback from DVD."

Sounds like you're dropping frames while capturing. As "sfheath" alluded to, you should attempt to initially capture both video and audio in uncompressed format - and compress afterwards.

If you are capturing as .AVI, you can capture video using a "lossless" codec such as HuffyUV - and audio as Uncompressed PCM (.WAV)...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2004, 06:48 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
IncognitoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In The Sticks, NTSC
Posts: 13
Default

I am capturing straight to mpeg2...using roxio, I have tried virtual VCR, my DMA is enabled, I did that myself. No where on the package or manaul does it say whether it caps using hardware or software...I contacted the manufacturer about 2 months ago...still no response...gotta love that. I got this card brand new in box unopened for $15...I realize it's not the best card for the job, but it does cap great except for the skipping crap. I am using XP home by the way.

Capturing first to avi is best? Not sure if Roxio can do that...
What is best for capuring to avi?
PCM audio capture?

What is best to use for compressing the files to mpeg2?

P.S. - that other guy you found with the same proble...yeah, That me also under another username...what can I say...

Just did some system upgrade recently.

Last edited by IncognitoDVD; 18 Mar 2004 at 06:53 AM
IncognitoDVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2004, 09:11 PM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: salisbury, UK
Posts: 2,399
Default

If Roxio can't manage to capture avi I think you should find that VirtualDubMod (freeware) will - also should do a conversion providing appropriate codec is present. Sorry it's sketchy but upgraded work machine recently and not put it back on.
sfheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2004, 12:32 PM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Last week i bought the WINFAST tv tuner card.......
its pretty easy to use i have just one problem how do u put old vhs videos onto a dvd ???
Pioneer41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2004, 03:10 PM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I was just using the program InterVideo WINDVD Creator 2 , and i chose the RECORD VIDEO TAPE into DVD disc in one step......
I did the following ;
Television Standard : PAL
Audio : MPEG Audio
Audio Splitting File : 4096 MB

I did all that and i COPIED it and the dvd finalised but when i put it into my Home DVD Player it came up with CHECK DISC
And when i want to play it onto my computer it says PLEASE INSERT A DISC INTO DRIVE(DVD).......

I don't know what the problem is but im hopeing and thinking that the disc was not good......But when i look at the disc you can see how it has been burnt (copied) onto it

Anyone know wat the problem is ?
Pioneer41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2004, 10:44 PM   #9
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: salisbury, UK
Posts: 2,399
Default

To work in a standalone player you must burn in DVD compatibility mode, creating a VIDEO_TS folder containing IFO, BUP & VOB files and usually an empty AUDIO_TS folder.
Also, a very common teething problem with starting up is unusable media/player combinations.
Look up your brand and player at www.dvdrhelp.com/players or www.meritline.com
Good luck
sfheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Mar 2004, 07:51 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13
Default

ive copied other dvd's and it works fine on both of my home dvd player's !
this time wen i copied a vhs straight to the dvd did the problem occur with "check disc"..........as u mentioned above about creating a VIDEO_TS folder containing IFO BUP & VOB files and an empty AUDIO_TS folder.........how am i suppossed to do that ???
Because i just followed the menu in the InterVideo WINDVD Creator 2 and it said it will copy directly.......
Pioneer41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Mar 2004, 11:21 AM   #11
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 85
Default

Incognito, I'm having the same problem, although it's not exactly every 8 seconds. I've been told by a pro that the problem is the quality of VHS in general and some of my tapes in particular, and the best way to correct this is to use a Time Base Corrector. They are not cheap and not easy to find, but he showed me the difference on his standalone TBC and it solved the problem. Now I just need to figure out how to get one.
davidra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Mar 2004, 01:20 PM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
IncognitoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In The Sticks, NTSC
Posts: 13
Default

OK...seemed to kinda get "off topic" here...

davidra?
you using the same capture card as me?....


Does anyone know if this thing called "VDF to WDM Wrapper" would help solve my issue? Heard about it on the Vdub forum...I have tried Vdub before and I could not get it to recognize my card...this VDF to WDM Wrapper is suppose to help when using Vdub with ATI cards...Quote: VD uses only VDF, and your ATI AIW uses WDM. I have three AIWs and they all work fine with Virtualdub. Found this on the Vdub forum....
IncognitoDVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Mar 2004, 07:36 PM   #13
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: salisbury, UK
Posts: 2,399
Default

Pioneer41, I'm not familiar with WinDVD Creator but there should be an option or wizard for creating a standard DVD with the structure I mention for standalone player compatibility. You should be able to view this structure in the final disc with Windows Explorer.
Sounds like you've proved the media ok so I would check your method. You want a DVD that will play in a player?

IncognitoDVD, we are talking VirtualDubMod, right? Not really up on capture - couple of experts around hopefully will look in. An alternative software you could trial is TMPGEnc, (different prog to TMPGEnc DVD Author)
sfheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Mar 2004, 10:51 PM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
IncognitoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In The Sticks, NTSC
Posts: 13
Default

Yes, VirtualDubMod....I have TMPGEnc Plus and TMPGEnc DVD Author both....not as familiar with TMPGEnc DVD Author though...
IncognitoDVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Mar 2004, 01:15 AM   #15
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 85
Default

No, I've got an AIW 9000 Low Profile card, but it sounds like a similar problem....
davidra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:04 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com