Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11 Apr 2004, 12:25 AM   #1

Default VHS (home movies) to DVD or VCD

Ok so I'm new at this so this might sound like a lame question to all you veterans. Can you give me some advise on the hardware and software that I will need to put my home VHS movies onto DVD. I've done alot of encoding of movie downloads for VCD's but got a new computer with a DVD burner now so want to take the leap into DVD authoring. Thanks for your assistance. Great forum here
oledad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Apr 2004, 01:19 AM   #2
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master

There are basically three ways to get VHS to your hard drive. You can install a video card or use an external hardware device ( decent ones will cost $200), or you can pick up a DV Vidcam that has analog inputs that will act as a pass-thru via the 1394 firewire (you're looking ata minimum of $500 for this option....but, then you also get a DV VidCam for use.)
rsquirell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Apr 2004, 01:42 AM   #3

The most common way to do this is actually to install a video capture card, which can be found for as little as $20. You hook your VCR up to the capture card, and more or less record the video. However, I wouldn't expect great results via this method, and it takes great deals of time and effort.

The ideal situation would be if both your VCR and video capture card had an S-Video connection, but to the best of my knowledge most VCR's do not use S-Video.
ignignot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Apr 2004, 10:24 AM   #4

Thanks guys guess i'll do a shopping for a capture card. Any sugesstions on software?
Old 11 Apr 2004, 01:41 PM   #5
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master