Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 9 Feb 2005, 12:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default VirtualDub resizing: the output file is over 100GB

i downloaded virtualdub to resize my widescreen movies so that it could burn correctly using WinDVD creator. anywho, the out put file is over 100 GB! I couldn't finish the resizing. I stopped it at only 8% complete, and that alone was 8GB. Is there anyway i can change this? Thanks.
delusional is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Feb 2005, 06:34 PM   #2
It Was The Dog, I Swear!
 
DrinkOrDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA (172 miles south of Microsoft Headquarters)
Posts: 326
Default

Video is probably set in vdub, to "full processing mode" like it should be, so check your compression settings. It's likely that video compression is set to "no compression" so it's like extracting a wav from an mp3, it gets huge.

When using full processing mode and resize filter in virtualdub, choose a codec for video compression settings or you will get a huge, uncompressed video. That's likely what's happening.
__________________
My toy:

Custom Build PC Born on 03-08-08AMD Athlon64 X2 6400+ (3.21Ghz) (Black Edition) on overclock ready Asus M2R32-MVP Crossfire AMD chipset Mobo, 8-Channel HD Audio, Windows XP MCE, 2GB 800Mhz DDR2, 512MB NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, 500GB SATA-II HardDisks X 4 in RAID 4 mode,(1.5 TB storage capacity + 500GB eSata external) Sony MultiRec DVD-RW, PCI-HDTV Tuner, SOYO Topaz S 24" Wide LCD 1920X1200
DrinkOrDie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Feb 2005, 07:12 PM   #3
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Use the same codec and codec settings that were used on the original .AVI...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Feb 2005, 02:55 AM   #4
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
Default

Why do you need to resize your videos for WinDVD Creator?
Can it not author widescreen, and letterbox it properly?
Although I haven't used WinDVD, I would think there's a setting somewhere to fix aspect ratio for widescreen.
Resizing and resaving in virtualdub just results in a loss of quality, and you're probably going to end up with a stretched, out of proportion video.
__________________
My DVDLab (and other) Guides
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Feb 2005, 06:20 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

"Why do you need to resize your videos for WinDVD Creator?
Can it not author widescreen, and letterbox it properly?
Although I haven't used WinDVD, I would think there's a setting somewhere to fix aspect ratio for widescreen.
Resizing and resaving in virtualdub just results in a loss of quality, and you're probably going to end up with a stretched, out of proportion video."



when i try to burn a widescreen using WinDVD, the image gets realy compressed/ squinted. so i followed setarip's intruction from another thread to resize my image. The quality wasn't effected much when i resized it, but i couldn't complete the resize because the file was getting too big. so ill try the tips mentioned above.
delusional is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Feb 2005, 06:32 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

THANKS GUYS
delusional is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Feb 2005, 08:44 AM   #7
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
Default

Time to try different encoding/authoring apps.
Can you NOT set something in WinDVD to create the proper aspect?
(I'm going to load it and see what settings it's got). BRB.
Edit: seems windvd cannot understant widescreen or any other aspect other than 4:3.
I would get my money back, and buy DVDLab.

Last edited by reboot; 10 Feb 2005 at 09:00 AM
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Feb 2005, 09:32 AM   #8
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"THANKS GUYS"

My (Our) pleasure ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Feb 2005, 09:35 AM   #9
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default To reboot

Unless something's recently been added to DVDLabDVDLab is not going to enable "delusional" to convert .AVIs to DVD format...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Feb 2005, 10:31 AM   #10
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
Default

Yeah, good point. I keep forgetting everyone loves these silly 1-click things.
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:57 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com