Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14 Oct 2011, 06:51 AM   #1
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default VM conditional navigation

In a PGCs pre-commands I wish to direct playback to a given line dependant on the value in an SPRM register (# 8 which holds the highlighted button number). While I find numerous instances of commands conditional on a GPRM value, I have not found commands conditional on an SPRM value. Is this latter approach not normal practice should a GPRM register be first set equal to the SPRM value ?
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2011, 11:23 PM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

You're right. The designers of the DVD-Video standard have decided to make things complex without reason. So, you cannot use a SPRM in a condifional command, and you have to copy it first in a GPRM, as you guessed.

It's really stupid, as it is theoretically possible to use the SPRM directly. It's just a flag to add in the byte that contains the SPRM or GPRM number in the binary command. That flag exists and is used in many commands when a GPRM or SPRM can be used, but it cannot be set in the condition of the conditional commands, although there is room for it. Why they decided to prohibit it is for me a great mystery!
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
Unofficial mirror (in Poland)
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2011, 03:48 AM   #3
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

Many thanks for your confirmation. Indeed, the logic of the designers is hard to fathom; I guess one can only sigh “Les voies du Seigneur ….”.

I would like to come back to the problem I had with cutting via VB a long blank which occurred between the end of images and then end of a cell. After having originally tried to edit the relevant episode PGC cell, I found that by acting on the relevant cell in the “Play All” PGC, I was able to split this and subsequently blank the newly-created cell.

One thing which I left unresolved in this video was an audio track problem. There are two (English) audio tracks – track 0 being AC3 6-Channel and track 1 AC3 2-Channel. I wish to change the default from track 1 to track 0. In the main movie PGC’s pre-commands I inserted [51 00 00 80 00 00 00 00], but the default remains Track 1.
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2011, 04:11 AM   #4
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

Are you sure the command is executed, and thet there is no other SetSTN executed after that one?
If you're not sure, post the pre-commands here.
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2011, 09:28 PM   #5
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

Yes, the command is being executed and it is the only pre-command in the PGC.
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2011, 09:44 PM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

In that case, that must work! What stream number displays the PgcEdit trace when the title is played?
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Oct 2011, 04:44 AM   #7
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

When the disque is loaded the SPRM value is 15, but the pre-command sets it to 0. The VLC player shows Track 2 by default whether the SPRM is 15 or 0. As mentioned earlier, PgcEdit shows Audio track 0 as 6-channel AC3 and track 1 as, 2-channel (the latter being very faint).
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Oct 2011, 07:17 PM   #8
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRYK View Post
When the disque is loaded the SPRM value is 15, but the pre-command sets it to 0.
So, when the title is running in trace mode, you see "0: en, unspecified (AC3)" in the virtual player panel of PgcEdit? If it's the case, that confirms that your authoring is correct and that VLC is not at all a DVD-Video standard compliant player.

Or perhaps it has a function to overwrite the default audio when it finds that another audio track is theoretically better for your hardware. If it's the case, it should be possible to turn that option off.

BTW, I never use VLC to verify the authoring of a DVD, because it has too many bugs and discrepancies. It's a good multimedia player, except for the DVDs.
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Oct 2011, 11:48 PM   #9
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

The trace log window shows:
Entering VTST 1 , 1 TTN 1 (1:31:54) Title 1
-- pre 1 : (SetSTN) Set Audio stream = 0
-> sprm(1:Audio stream number) = 0 (0x0000)
******* Start playback VTST 1 , 1 TTN 1 (1:31:54) Title 1...

Or perhaps it has a function to overwrite the default audio<
I take it you are referring to the VLC player.

What would you recommend for playing DVDs instead of the VLC player ?
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Oct 2011, 01:04 AM   #10
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: be
Posts: 1,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRYK View Post
The trace log window shows:
Entering VTST 1 , 1 TTN 1 (1:31:54) Title 1
-- pre 1 : (SetSTN) Set Audio stream = 0
-> sprm(1:Audio stream number) = 0 (0x0000)
******* Start playback VTST 1 , 1 TTN 1 (1:31:54) Title 1...
Seems correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRYK View Post
Or perhaps it has a function to overwrite the default audio<
I take it you are referring to the VLC player.
Yes, of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRYK View Post
What would you recommend for playing DVDs instead of the VLC player ?
The most recent thread in this forum is (indirectly) on that subject: http://forum.digital-digest.com/f14/...ink-95292.html
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Oct 2011, 03:55 PM   #11
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 226
Default

Many thanks - I shall change my test player accordingly.
VRYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
invalid DVD navigation ?? rainy165 Authoring and Editing 5 12 Sep 2004 05:00 AM
dvd navigation menus patcat88 General Discussions 0 26 Nov 2001 02:41 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:11 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com