Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > DVD Flick

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16 Feb 2009, 05:10 AM   #1
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default Using AviSynth with Flick?

I just installed the new Flick 1.3.0.5 and I'm curious to try to get around the "text only" subtitle support by using AviSynth. In FAVC AviSynth scripts are generated and run, so you can edit and just load the plugin at the beginning and add a VobSub() call at the end to hard code graphic idx/sub subs into the video. But with Flick I have no clue. Anyone know of guides that incorporate AviSynth usage in Flick or maybe even some .avs scripts that are Flick oriented?

MilesAhead is offline  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 07:53 AM   #2
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

From messing around I got this work-around if all you have is idx/sub graphical subs and don't mind hard coding them into the video. Make a three line AviSynth script:

#load VSFilter plugin.. I have FAVC and it already has it installed
LoadPlugin("C:\FAVC\Avisynth Plugins\VSFilter.dll")
DirectShowSource("C:\DVD\MyMovie.avi")
VobSub("C:\DVD\MyMovie")

The idx/sub subtitle pair in this instance have the same basename as the .avi file. Also I used VobSubStrip freeware to make sure there's only one subtitle set in the idx/sub pair. There may be other ways of selecting the language but I didn't run across it yet. This works and VobSubStrip does the job very quickly.

You can drag & drop that script onto Flick just as if it was a video file.
Then just kick it off.
MilesAhead is offline  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 08:55 AM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,500
Question

Hi Miles,

Changing gear on you ... for FAVC, I am assuming you are using 64-bit version on your Vista 64-bit.

Q1: What version of Vista do you have?

Q2: Besides Vista Codec Pack ... what "Other" Codecs have you installed on you rPC to get this darn FAVC working for you?

Q3: BTW, do you "Tick" use FFDShow on the last tab for FAVC?

Thanks,

G!
gonwk is offline  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 09:01 AM   #4
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

I have Vista Home Premium 64 bit SP1.

The only other thing I installed to get FAVC working is AviSynth 2.5.8

I don't tick the "DirectShowSource"

What do you have for FAVC audio processing? Are you using Aften or QuEnc?

I think this is the fourth or fifth time you asked me about FAVC on 64 bit so I'm curious what doesn't work? Does it just crap out with no error msg or what?
MilesAhead is offline  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 09:15 AM   #5
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,500
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesAhead View Post
...What do you have for FAVC audio processing? Are you using Aften or QuEnc?

I think this is the fourth or fifth time you asked me about FAVC on 64 bit so I'm curious what doesn't work? Does it just crap out with no error msg or what?
Miles,

I am stumped. I don't have my laptop on right now and I was getting ready to jam ... since I have to move my cousin while the Rain has stopped.

Q1: But, I am sure about the Audio ... which one do you use!?!?

The error says the Host Processing stopped. BTW, it goes thru generating the files BUT does not combine the Audio and Vidoe for the final Output.

I will post more later ...

And I hear you ... you are getting Tired of me whining ... OK, I promise I will stop!

Thanks,

G!
gonwk is offline  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 09:37 AM   #6
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

If it craps out doing the muxing try setting the bitrate down to about 4000. For some reason FAVC seems to be sensitive to the number of input files too. If I put in 2 .avi files and set the bitrate to anything over 4000 it often craps out. If I combine the 2 avi files with AviDemux, just using append, sometimes I can set the bitrate up as high as 6000.
It's finicky. Try setting bitrate for either HC or QuEnc to 4000 and set audio AC3 to use QuEnc. See if it starts completing.
MilesAhead is offline  
Old 18 Feb 2009, 01:12 PM   #7
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,500
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesAhead View Post
... Try setting bitrate for either HC or QuEnc to 4000 and set audio AC3 to use QuEnc. See if it starts completing.
Well Miles,

You did it man ... this combo at least gave me an output DVD with my clip sample.

However, I am still getting something stopped NOT from FAVC but may be something from FAVC causing that behavior ... when I am able to capture the screen I will post it just for curiosity.

But I wish Mr. Odwin would respond ... I think he might have just stopped developing the FAVC ... he seems just to be gone.

Thanks again,

G!

Last edited by gonwk; 18 Feb 2009 at 01:35 PM
gonwk is offline  
Old 18 Feb 2009, 01:22 PM   #8
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

You're welcome. I don't know what happened to Mr O. I haven't noticed him on any ng anyplace. I like FAVC quite a bit so I'm hoping he'll keep perfecting it.
MilesAhead is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD flick burgundy888 DVD Flick 1 5 Feb 2009 07:27 AM
Using DVD flick Harry_monk Junior Members/Newbies 1 8 Dec 2008 09:18 AM
dvd flick drmax DVD Flick 1 20 Nov 2008 02:17 PM
DVD Flick 1.3.0.4 is Available gonwk DVD Flick 21 25 Oct 2008 06:45 AM
Question about DVD Flick, 6+ GB disappeared when using DVD Flick Happytobehere Other File Formats 2 25 Apr 2008 02:31 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:58 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com