Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > VirtualDub

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12 Mar 2009, 12:47 PM   #1

Default Filtering out a certain color in VirtualDub?

Hi all.

I'm new to video editing, and I need some help. The 1922 silent film version of Robin Hood has recently been released into the public domain. But the only version available for free downloading on-line is low quality and has yellow Spanish subtitles at the bottom of the screen. I'm looking for a way to delete those subtitles. Since the entire film is in black and white, my thinking is that if there's some way to filter out the color yellow and replace it with black, that would work. I've tried using the MSU Logo Remover filter, but that doesn't seem to work for this particular film. I was wondering if anyone knew of a filter that would remove a certain color.

Arlo
Old 12 Mar 2009, 02:36 PM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video

Lightbulb

Hi Arlo,

You are in luck ... since the subtitle is at the bottom ... you can just cut-out the bottom portion in V-Dub and then reset your new revised video to the Original size of your video with V-Dub ... just look under Video button and use Null-Reference filter within V-Dub to cut out Subtitles.

G!
Old 12 Mar 2009, 05:59 PM   #3