Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > VirtualDub

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 27 Aug 2007, 05:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
Default Resize Help

i am using Virtualdub and got to resize 640x480 to fit on to the tv screen...now how would i be able to fit a 704x396 to the tv screen
KnightWalker30 is offline  
Old 28 Aug 2007, 12:11 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

You can resize using the resize filter.But going from 704x396(AR=1.77) to 640x480(AR=1.66) will mess up the aspect ratio and you will get a distorted picture.The correct size would be 640x360(AR=1.77).
__________________

ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF
paglamon is offline  
Old 29 Aug 2007, 02:08 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
Default

MMMMMAAAAAANNNNNN it fits like a charm thanks for the help...
is there a guid that will help me get the right aspect ratio for standard TV's
KnightWalker30 is offline  
Old 29 Aug 2007, 02:07 PM   #4
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

You don't need a guide. You just need a calculator.
paglamon is offline  
Old 2 Sep 2007, 02:34 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
Default

LMAO really, man i thought it would be little complex cause i kept searching all i got it would ruin the quality and what not...so how would you do it. and would it be the same number for all sizes or different
KnightWalker30 is offline  
Old 2 Sep 2007, 07:21 PM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22°38'12.55" N, 88°25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

1.Determine the aspect ratio of the source(16:9 or 4:3 or 1.85 etc.)
2.Encode ur avi using the RESIZE filter in VD. Here specify the size keeping in mind the original aspect ratio.
Example: Original AR=1.85
U want the avi to have an width of ,say,640 pixels.
So,640/height=1.85
Hence height = 640/1.85 = 346
But XviD requires height or width to be multiples of 16. So rounding off 346 to the nearest multiple of 16 we get 336 or 352.
So u shd encode at 640x336 or 640x352.

Hope I have not confused you.
paglamon is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Do You Resize Screenshot? soup General Computing 13 28 Jan 2006 11:30 PM
is there anyway to resize a movie? parachutestx DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 1 23 Jun 2005 03:24 PM
AVI to DVD resize problem yhsaf DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding 0 26 Jan 2005 11:52 PM
mpg resize ? Leinis Auf Deutsch 2 29 Oct 2003 09:06 AM
Is there a need to resize? som1dies Conversion/Encoding 4 25 Jun 2003 04:30 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:13 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com