Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20 Oct 2002, 01:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 19
Angry-2 Compressibility Test Problem...

Some reason whenever I now complete a Compressibility Test Check using the 5%, I go back to see what the % is beside the "load" button under the "bits/(Pixel*Frame) area and it is blank! I have no clue what is causing this.... Never had this problem until I had to re-install my OS (Win XP). I've created many DivX's before using your guide as well as the doom9.net guide. I am totaly clueless as to what is causing this and also how to fix it.

Also, I just tried several times to continue on to encode the movie to DivX but it always craps out around 15% - 20% into the first encoding process of the movie.

This is driving me nuts since I can't encode anything now. Tried different movies, still a no go...

Any suggestions would be great, I doubt I am the only person that is having this problem.


Thanks,

DeVNuLL

Last edited by DeVNuLL; 20 Oct 2002 at 02:19 PM
DeVNuLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Oct 2002, 07:57 PM   #2
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

is ur computer got the minimum specs (preferrably a better spec) for DIVX?

Prefered:

PIII 600MHz (min!)
a good graphics card, along with a good soundcard.

Quit ALL background programs. free up system resources. update drivers on your system - just in case.

Otherwise, I can't see why it's not doing anything.

PIII 600MHz is the recommended "starting point" for encoding DIVX files. you can use a slower CPU if u wish but it will take longer and may load up ur CPU alot....

Techno
techno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 12:25 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 19
Default

Ya I have the following:

AMD T-bird 1200mhz
512 DDR RAM
SoundBlaster Live


As I stated on my last post I've made DivX's before without and problems... just now after re-installing my OS with the same hardware setup I am now having this problem.
DeVNuLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 12:26 AM   #4
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

bloody AMD's............................................. .........
techno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 01:02 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 19
Default

Yes I know... but I doubt that my CPU is the problem... does it matter that I am using DivX Pro 5.02?
DeVNuLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 01:12 AM   #6
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

Sometimes...yes...personally. try encoding with DIVX v3.11 alpha (or nandub 2pass)..c what happens.

Have u tried it on a different system? (near enough same specs?) Try updating Windows. Have you installed the latest SP?

Techno
techno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 01:19 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 19
Default

Unfortunatly I don't have another computer that is even close to the specs of the hardware on the computer we are talking about... Is there much quality difference when encoding with DivX 3 VS 5 Pro ?

Also, I did try re-installing me OS lastnight and then trying and still same problem. As well.. I did re-install and tried XP with SP1 and still a no go. Going to try one more time re-installing everything, as well as getting the latest drivers for all of my hardware. I'm sure I already had the latest durring my last re-install but oh well, here goes nothing.

Oh I forgot to mention in my last post that I have a GeForce 4 Ti4200 128MB Video Card.

Anyways, off I go to re-install (again) with XP and SP1.
DeVNuLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 01:26 AM   #8
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

big difference in quality, I personally prefer 3.11alpha...other ppl prefer v5...try 3.11alpha (low file size and high quality!)

I think, from what u r describing, can be IRQ conflicts or even some sort of hardware conflict somewhere...if it was working b4....
techno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 02:45 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 19
Default

Ok cool... maybe I'll try out 3.11alpha and see if I can notice a difference or not. You can still have both installed right? (3.11a and 5.02 Pro?) Also, 3.11a will alow you to span to 2CD's and even 3CD's right? I guess it doesn't really matter since Gknot will set those params when you use it. All I've got to do is select to use DivX 3 insted of DivX 5 durring the encoding setup withing Gknot.

BTW: where can 3.11 alpha be found? is this the same ver that comes with Gnot that can be installed durring the setup?
DeVNuLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 02:53 AM   #10
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

um...dunno if u can install both at the same time.....

I usually make PERFECT 1 CD rips.... but usually, spreading it over a few CD's makes a good rip/better quality, but i've never had quality bother.


www.divx-digest.com/software

goto the codecs section and DIVX 3.11alpha will be there!

Good luck
techno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Oct 2002, 03:01 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 19
Default

Seems with DivX 5 or even 5.02 Pro when I had it working before it only was good quality with 2 CD's. 1 CD looked awfull no matter what.
DeVNuLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:47 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com