Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19 Apr 2002, 12:27 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default DivX codec problem!

Hi i have tried to follow the guides at www.divx-digest.com for both Xmpeg and Flask, and it works fine until i get to, the step where i have to chose which codes i wan't to use... I can't chose DivX of some reason! It SUX And i can only chose mpeg 3 layer in Xmpeg at a bit rate of 56/kbits!

I have installed divx 5.01 normal release
Im running WinXP and i got a:
asus a7m266
1400 mhz thunderbird
512 ddr ram
64mb gforce2 gts

Dunno if u needs to know more to sollow my problem
Thx Ya!
Worze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2002, 12:42 AM   #2
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

Have you tried to re-install the codec?

Have you tried a different codec (eg, DIVX 3.11alpha)?

Have you tried a different encoder?

Techno
techno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2002, 02:04 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I have tried to install both divx pro with ads and the normal version, but i havn't tried the 4.11 or 3.11 or others! What would u guys recommend to try of codecs? I have only tried to use Flask and Xmpeg, i think xmpeg is the best one...!?
Worze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2002, 02:05 AM   #4
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,309
Default

Well, I would recommend DIVX 3.11alpha.

Encoders:

Vidomi
Nandub

Techno
techno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2002, 02:22 AM   #5
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 333
Default

I would also recommend DivX3.11 with but not with Xmpeg or Flask. Use GordianKnot with nandub instead. You'll get a better quality.
About the sound. Try to uninstall and then reinstall Radium. But not anything that comes with a package. Just take the lonely file and install it.

//Erci
__________________
DVD Backup Guide
Erci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2002, 05:08 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Radium?
Is the encoding tools yo talkin about as easy to use as the other ones?
Worze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2002, 01:08 PM   #7
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

I would recommend that you process the audio separately using, for example, graphedit or vob2audio (to get .wav audio) and then converting to MP3 track using, for example, LAME. After that, you can just mux the audio together with the video using virtual/nandub.

Let's take an example where you have finished encoding your video using Flask (or whatever else that suits your taste). You also have got the MP3 audio track of the movie, that you obtained using the above method. Now we will interleave it using nandub (it does not complain about the MP3 track):

1. Open video in nandub
2. Set both the video and audio tabs to Direct Stream Copy
3. Under audio tab, select your MP3 track.
4. Under the same tab, go to interleave option. In most cases, you really needn't change any of the options, but you will have to look into these if your final interleaved file has audio synch. problem. The settings should be clear enough to you, right?
5. Save as AVI and give a name to it.

Be warned that it is preferred that the video and audio have the same play length and, more importantly, framerate. Flask has the ability to parse multi-angle DVDs and hence, the video length may vary from the audio you obtained.

Just a precautionary warning.

Last edited by Enchanter; 19 Apr 2002 at 09:05 PM
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2002, 01:17 PM   #8
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

May I add that you uninstall Radium before trying out LAME. khp previously suggested the same because of some undesirable problems with having these two MP3 codecs installed under the same system.

I am personally a LAME user and have no Radium codec installed under my system. If it works and gives satisfying quality, I have no need for anything else.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:24 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com