Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 9 Oct 2005, 11:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Default DVD -> DivX/h.264 without losing stuff and other crap...

I've tried 3 different ways in the past 3 days and each one has given me the same crappy results.

I have subbed Final Fantasy 7: Advent Children (soft) and now I need a high def. rip of it. However, whatever programs I use (GordionKnot, AutoGK, Virtualdub, VirtualdubMod), I always run into these problems:

* If I use h.264 as the output, I cannot resize the screen. However, the program AUTO-RESIZES the movie into 720 x 480, when it's actually 720 x 400!!!!!
* With Virtualdub and VirtualdubMod, the movie is automatically lengthened by a few minutes, thus, screwing up my entire sub.
* With AutoGK, the movie loses 7 seconds, thus screwing up the later part of my sub!

Help, please? Comments, suggestions, theorizing of why the world of conversion hates me?
FAII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Oct 2005, 09:00 PM   #2
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Default

OK, with AutoGK; I've managed to make it so that the length is still the same. However, it adds 16 pixels, still >_>'
FAII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Oct 2005, 09:11 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

i have encoded many, many divx/xvid/x264 from dvd. gordian knot produces excellent results. are you absolutely sure your settings are correct?

check out the dvd-->xvid/divx/x264 guides here for some guidelines http://www.doom9.org
__________________
"What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington

anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2005, 12:47 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hi, I tried doom9's guide earlier today (without having read your reply yet XD) and encountered the following problems:

The guide seems a bit outdated. I downloaded the packs that the guide linked to. However, a lot of the GK menus looked different. In fact, I couldn't even find some of the stuff that guide was referring to.

Not only that, when I got to configure the x264 codec, the best I could get was 736 x 400. Now it was adding 16 pixels to the WIDTH of the screen (which isn't good either!).

All I want is a way to encode my dvd to 720x400 (and without stretching or smooshing the length of the movie)(the way it's supposed to be) in either xvid, divx or h264 (but preferrably h264 for quality's sake). If someone can give me a step-by-step on exactly how to do that, I'd be very grateful >_<'.
FAII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2005, 04:15 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAII
All I want is a way to encode my dvd to 720x400
just make sure your resolution settings look like this (note the h-modul and w-modul are both set to 16, even though the default is 32)



make sure the aspect ratio is set correctly too, and don't crop unless its necessary.
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2005, 04:45 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Oh, ok. I'll try that. Thanks
FAII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2005, 09:01 AM   #7
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

no problem

let us know how it goes
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2005, 09:16 PM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Whee, it's working. It's been encoding for 14 hours and now and will be done in another 4. 720x400, 1:41:1, h264 .

I used GordionKnot. Anyway, I read the readme after having let it encode for 6 hours and it said something about Roborip that you should not use DvD Decrypter because that would make the audio offsynch and force filming doesn't work. It just meant in conjuction with Roborip, right? >_>'
FAII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2005, 09:24 PM   #9
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAII
It just meant in conjuction with Roborip, right? >_>'
not sure, i've never used 'roborip' before. stick with dvd decrypter, its never failed me
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2005, 10:47 PM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Only 3 hours 20 mins left 'til I can find out.
FAII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2005, 03:53 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Default

It worked . It gave ma 720x408 movie though (even though GK said it was going to be 400), but that's OK. The extra 8 pixels are just black stripes . And the subs are still well aligned.
FAII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2005, 04:01 AM   #12
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

glad to see it worked out
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:15 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com